Can I disable the license renewal reminder ?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Fad, Oct 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    England
    Now I have 6 days left on my Prevx license, a popup reminder keeps appearing at every reboot - is there a way of supressing this ?

    I can`t see an option for it :doubt:
     
  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It looks like we don't have a "remind in X days" in P30 - this is in place in P40, but the daily reminder is unfortunately hardcoded except after your license expires (then you can select how long you would like to wait to be reminded again).

    However, if you renew with your same license key, you will retain the 6 days as well (so you would have 365 + 6 days on your license key) and then there wouldn't be any possibility of disabled protection.
     
  3. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    England
    Thanks, but...

    However, if you renew with your same license key, you will retain the 6 days as well (so you would have 365 + 6 days on your license key)..

    do you mean my NEW license key ? That I can apply it early without penalty & confusion ?

    ----------------

    I tried re-applying the old license, nothing happened, then applied the new one - but it just showed 365 days ?!

    So went to MyPrevx page and went through some hoops trying to attach it & register it (some errors ocurred, which always seems to happen when I visit that page)

    so now I seem to have 2 licenses active simultaneously - which was my original question a few weeks ago regarding early activation.......very confusing (and pointless with just one machine)

    I thought I could just paste the new license into Prevx now and have it added on to the existing one - but it didn`t work o_O
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2010
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you could send me both of your license keys in a PM, I'll merge them together and send you the new one to use! :)

    Thanks!
     
  5. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    England
    :D Thanks, that will be a lot easier I think....I had given it all up as a lost cause last night.

    Will I just be able to apply it into the program, or have to set up yet another account on the MyPrevx page ?
     
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    You can add the new license in your already setup MYPrevx account just have a look in there were to add another license and you can remove old dead licenses in there also!

    TH
     
  7. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    England
    I tried that with my pending new license last night and it wouldn`t let me do it - I had to open a new account.

    Then I was able to add it, but they were both running concurrently at that point, so I just disabled the new one temporarily...

    it was very confusing. :blink:
     
  8. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I've added 10 additional days onto your new license now so you should be able to use it properly :) You may want to just remove any MyPrevx accounts and start fresh off of the newer license you've purchased.

    Let me know if you need anything else!
     
  9. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    England
    Thanks very much Joe, the new license was accepted in Prevx and is working :thumb:

    Although, I`m trying to log in to delete the "spare" account, but I`m getting this message for both:

    Error: (CL003) Logon not recognized, please re-enter your logon details and try again


    Yet, when I try to create a new account, it`s saying I`m already registered !

    I bet it`s only me having this trouble isn`t it :rolleyes:

    --------

    I managed to log into my old account now, but it`s saying I can`t change the master license.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2010
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Probably not - I'm not familiar enough with MyPrevx to give sound advice on it. I can make any changes to your license if needed but you might have better luck if you want to keep your existing license to write into our support inbox as they are more familiar with MyPrevx. Alternatively, I can deactivate your current license and get you a new one which you'll be able to create a new account for.

    Let me know what you'd like to do!
     
  11. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    377
    Location:
    England
    Then I`d have 3 current accounts - as I can see no way of deleting them :D

    It appears to be working at the moment and I can log in with my original account now if need be, so maybe I should just leave it ?

    Although I can not detach the old license (which is still technically active) presumably it will just "die" when it expires ?

    Hopefully it will anyway, and won`t take my new one with it as it`s still the master license ! - I`ll leave it for now and see if it implodes next week and cross that bridge when I come to it

    Thanks :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.