Can I add Sandboxie and OA to EMET?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by GrammatonCleric, Aug 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrammatonCleric

    GrammatonCleric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Posts:
    372
    Or will EMET memory randomization interfere with sandboxing process or OA process?
     
  2. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    FWIW, I add OP FW Pro 7.5 to EMET 2.1 with no ill effects. It faces the internet thus is exposed to risk. Some will say it is not needed as the product has advertised self protection. So to be contrarian I do it anyway.

    Can't help on sanboxing as I don't use it.
     
  3. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    you probably could, but I would not do that.
    trying to secure a security app is funny :)
     
  4. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I always wonder if I should add security applications to EMET. After all, EMET may break something "silently" and then your entire system is compromised.
     
  5. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Why would you place Sandboxie in EMET? many posts here says SBIE sandboxing is almost perfect. Do you know of anything that could bypass sandboxing of SBIE?

    do you want to take a risk for possible incompatibility and unstability which could cause reduced security over supposed to be additional security which you are unsure if it could add anything?
     
  6. tomazyk

    tomazyk Guest

    I would not put any security software under EMET. Risk of EMET breaking something is much bigger then security gains it can provide.
    I use EMET only for internet facing apps and apps that open files.
     
  7. Jose_Lisbon

    Jose_Lisbon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Posts:
    245
    Location:
    Portugal
    Sandboxie takes care of you, not the opposite.
    Besides, I've never heard of a successful breach of SBIE walls. The (few) times someone comes to a forum saying "I got infected while browsing sandboxed" either the user allowed something out with quick recovery, or was not really sandboxed (I always keep a green border on), or messed up the settings.
     
  8. siberianwolf

    siberianwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Posts:
    516
    exactly.
     
  9. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    LOL, same thing came to my mind, you gotta trust on your security apps :D
     
  10. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    I had added all of the sandboxie processes (including license manager too) under EMET around a year ago, and I never had any noticeable problems due to that.
     
  11. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    You don't often see a security company say "We patched X vulnerabilities in our product." You have to wonder how much one of their products actually adds to your attack surface.
     
  12. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Hello:

    I notice your router is a DDWRT Router with a HOST file built in to it.

    This I didn't know was possible can you explain the concept a bit either here in this thread if the moderators allow or via PM when you have time.

    Thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.