Can GPT Formatted External HDD Store Virtual MBR Formatted Partitions for Possible Future Recovery?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Cfguy, Jul 16, 2017 at 8:57 PM.

  1. Cfguy

    Cfguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Everyone,

    I just purchased a new internal 6 TB HDD, that I am using with a USB 3.0 to SATA External Hard Drive Docking Station (to convert to an "external drive").

    Problem is until yesterday I didn't know that there were two different ways to format larger HDDs (GPT, which would allow me to utilize the entire 6 TB of the drive, but I am concerned might give me compatibility problems with backing up and potentially restoring MBR formatted-partitions on the internal HDD of my Windows 7 Pro PC) and the older MBR format, which I know will give me no compatibility issues with my PC internal HDD, but will apparently limit me to only using 2 TB of the external HDD, leaving the other 4 TVB (as I understand) "unusable".

    My question is this. I am using use Paragon Hard Disk Manager 15 Professional to currently back up the MBR partitions of my PC internal HDD (running Windows 7 Professional x64) to "virtual drives" (containers).

    If I do format my new external 6 TB HDD in GPT format, can I then use Paragon to backup the MBR partitions of my internal MBR HDD into "virtual drives" that are merely stored on the external GPT formatted HDD, and if I am able to do this, should I ever need to restore one of these stored virtual MBR HDDs back to the original PC internal HDD (or perhaps a brand new MBR formatted internal HDD of the same size as the previous internal MBR HDD that I would be replacing it with), will the restored MBR partitions work on the (new or current) MBR internal PC HDD without any problems (not limited to, but including being able to boot up into Windows 7 Professional x64?

    Any help or advice on this issue would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Cfguy
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,950
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Cfguy,

    If your HD has 4K native sectors you can use it as a MBR disk and the full 6 TB size will be available. If it has 4K logical sectors with 512e then it needs to be a GPT disk.

    I don't understand your Paragon "virtual drives". Are they files?
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017 at 10:37 PM
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,413
    Yes. You can save the images to the external GPT disk. Use the pvhd format. Each image has several files (3, I think).
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2017 at 11:56 PM
  4. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,561
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    If the images mentioned are FILES, it does not matter what the format of the disk is. Files are structured for the NTFS (or reFS) FileSystem and, as such, may be stored on any Windows known formatted disk. The main purpose for GPT formatting is as you found out... to reach beyond the limit of managing a 2tB storage element... it's the only way to utilize the larger storage devices.

    ...and, yes, you can use GPT formatted DATA disks with a Legacy-MBR formatted operating System... they have nothing, specific, to do with each other. How else would you add a BIG DISK to a current Legacy-MBR BOOTed OS?
     
  5. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,413
    I´m not so sure about what happens if the external disk is 4K native and the internal is not. Sure the images can be saved to the 4K disk, but what happens in a restore, especially if for some reason the partition was imaged in a sector-by-sector mode? As I remember, Paragon claims compatibility with 4K disks, but...
     
  6. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,651
    These does not matter to an OS/PE/RE etc; only thing matters is the file system which is visible to the OS/PE/RE. So it does not matter (IMO)
     
  7. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    797
    Sorry to perhaps bring this a little OT but I am thinking about getting a 4TB SATA III drive and a USB 3 Docking Station. My current Backups go to an internal SATA III drive and I do a full image and verify in about 12 minutes. Were you ever able to get this USB 3 backup working and do you know what the transfer rate was? I just wonder how much longer going thru USB 3.0 will take? When I try my USB3 Flash Divve it goes from 12 minutes to 25 minutes! I would hope an HDD in a USB Docking Station would be almost as good as the Internal HDD.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017 at 5:31 PM
  8. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,413
    Using Vantec USB 3.0 enclosures, I´ve got a wide range of transfer rates, from 20-25 MB/s to 120-130 MB/s (the size of the image divided by the time required to create it, as reported by the image software). The highest correspond to Image for Linux-based UFDs, the lowest to WinPE UFDs with Macrium, but there are other factors involved.
     
  9. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    797
    OK, I was looking at the Sabrent EC-DFFN
    Are you using this Vantec?
    NexStar® TX USB 3.0
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2017 at 6:30 PM
  10. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,413
    Yes, I have two enclosures, not the recent models. One bought in 2010, the other in 2013. The USB-SATA chips are different, and this is one of the factors that affect the transfer rates (the newer one is generally faster, the older one is sometimes fast and sometimes slow).

    You may consider buying an enclosure compatible with the new, faster USB standard, USB 3.1 Gen. 2. Note that USB 3.1 Gen. 1 is equivalent to the "old" USB 3.0.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,950
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Cfguy,

    I've noticed you have started four threads but haven't provided feedback to any. Will this thread be an exception?
     
  12. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    797
    Well, my wifes system that I built is based on an ASUS Z170-A. It does have USB 3.1. I should at least get her one that supports Gen 2. Not sure who makes one yet.

    Well, here is what I found..
    ASMedia® USB 3.1 controller :
    1 x USB 3.1 Gen 2 port(s) (1 at back panel, , USB Type-CTM)
    ASMedia® USB 3.1 controller :
    1 x USB 3.1 Gen 2 port(s) (1 at back panel, teal blue, Type-A)
     
Loading...