Can Emsisoft Anti-Malware replace free avast and MBAM pro ?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by southcat, Dec 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. southcat

    southcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    212
    Greeting. I am looking for enhance system protection without too much performance down.

    I found Emsisoft in wilders forum and later i visited their web site, they claim
    their product "Emsisoft Anti Malware" can replace antivirus and also better than MBAM pro.

    After i searched and view thread in wilders, many people said Emsisoft Anti Malware is better than MBAM pro, but how about the antivirus part ?

    I also cannot find the detection and performance test result in av-comparatives.

    Is it wise to replace free Avast! AV and MBAM pro by Emsisoft Anti Malware ?

    Thank you.

    Regards
    Southcat
     
  2. Bodhitree

    Bodhitree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Posts:
    567
    They use BitDefender for the AV part, the used to use Ikarus, which is good but heavy, and suffers from a lot of FP's. BD was a better choice. Yes Emsisoft can replace both, and your system should run fast. MBAM seems to load down systems IMO.
     
  3. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Before the thread gets shut down, only you can decide what you're better off with, as if you get others involved, it'll just be one long back and forth of who is better than who. Emisoft can replace MBAM, but I wouldn't go so far as to agree it can replace AV software. MBAM Pro has consistently had stellar results in testing, so if you've already paid for it, I would advise holding on to it unless you have serious performance issues or something. I personally have not had it load my system down or cause me any issues like it. I run Avast Free and MBAM Pro, and I've yet to have malware actually infect me.
     
  4. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
    can i use emisoft on windows 8?
     
  5. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Yes, you can.
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,290
    Location:
    England
    I am using it on Win 8 without any problem (I disabled Defender first)

    Running it along side MBAM free and sandboxie.
     
  7. THESAWISFAMILY2005

    THESAWISFAMILY2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    198
    Location:
    SACRAMENTO CALIFORNIA
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    While not doubting the validity of Bodhitree's experiences with MBAM, I believe it's an experience not shared by most users. Also Emsisoft Anti Malware is different from MBAM Pro in that MBAM is meant to be a complementary product and not a replacement for a Av. So Southcat you need to re examine the content of the threads where you say Emsisoft is better. Really there just two different types of cats.;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2012
  9. southcat

    southcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    212
    First, Thanks for all of the advises.:)

    If I want to run Emsisoft Anti-Malware along with MBAM pro, is that ok ?
    Or i should replace Free antivirus with Paid antivirus.

    Recently, i am considering to enhance system protection, but i don't want computer performance decrease too much. it is very annoying.

    Thanks.

    Regards
     
  10. Blues7

    Blues7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    858
    Location:
    Blue Ridge Mountains
    No AV is perfect...that said, I depend on EAM for real-time protection and use MBAM Pro (as well as Hitman Pro) for on-demand scans. I don't feel the need to run MBAM Pro in real-time.
    (And didn't while running Comodo FW until recently switching to OA.)

    If you continue to run Comodo FW (per your signature), Sandboxie and EAM in real-time I think you would be very well covered in my opinion.
     
  11. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    According to Emsisoft you can. I guess it's just a matter if you experience any slowdowns or such on your system that decides.
     
  12. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    @southcat, you can use emsisoft as an on-demand scanner (with no real time protection) along with your current setup.

    If you want to use all the features of emsisoft you need to disable real time protection of avast.

    More info: https://helpdesk.emsisoft.com/Knowl...atible-with-other-antivirus-or-firewall-tools

    Emsisoft real time guard protects against malicious websites. It is called surf protection. So it covers mbam job of blocking malicious websites. I haven't used malwarebytes pro and hence can't comment on its real time protection and its compatibility with other programs. Emsisoft now includes bitdefender engine + its own and hence comparable to other antivirus products:)
     
  13. southcat

    southcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    212
    Thanks all of you for tell me so many information.:)

    I am now decided to run Emsisoft Anti-Malware in my real time setup and keep MBAM for an on-demand scanner.

    Thank you.

    Regards
     
  14. MultiVisions2013

    MultiVisions2013 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello SouthCat,

    Just to follow up withe the discussion. Emsisoft is a ANTI-VIRus/ANTI-MALWARE dual engine software. So Its like Running an AV along side Malware Protection such as Malwarebytes.

    You can definately run both side by side and also run Emsisoft with another AV. However it is not needed.
     
  15. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    yes and no
    yes because avast is not the perfect antivirus as none is
    no because each of them has its own strong and weak points .
    it is up to your likes and specs i believe.
     
  16. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Is EAM real time a free product?
     
  17. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,695
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    No, it is paid product.
    During installation, you can select Free version but it is used only for on-demand scanning.
     
  18. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    @siketa.
    Thank you.Im going to stick with avast then.EAM seems a bit bloated anyway.
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
  20. MultiVisions2013

    MultiVisions2013 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada
    Gery,

    Emsisoft uses Bitdefender as their Av engine, So it is a full AV suite.
     
  21. MultiVisions2013

    MultiVisions2013 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada
    Beethoven,

    There is a 30 day trial with full updates.
     
  22. MultiVisions2013

    MultiVisions2013 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada
    Very suprised! It is actually very light weight. I know resellers runing it alongside Avast and Malwarebytes.
     
  23. MultiVisions2013

    MultiVisions2013 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    Canada

    Actually Iquarus was their old engine. Yes had many false positives. Emsisoft will be in the next Av comparative tests:

    Products of the following vendors are included in our public comparative test-series of 2013:http://av-comparatives.org/

    AhnLab Emsisoft GFI - VIPRE Qihoo-360
    avast! eScan Kaspersky Sophos
    AVG ESET Kingsoft Tencent - QQ
    AVIRA Fortinet McAfee Trend Micro
    BitDefender F-Secure Microsoft
    Bullguard G DATA Panda
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,095
    I know.
    I just answered the question:
    "I also cannot find the detection and performance test result in av-comparatives."
    -------------------------
    I know that also.
    But this will happen in the future, there is not any report right now.
     
  25. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    527
    The protection of Emsisoft Anti-Malware is top notch. I don't use it because of the high system impact that it has - it uses around 800MB RAM and smothers my systems. I have 2 licenses and am not using either of them because of this.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.