Can AxCrypt run on Vista 64bit?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by SourMilk, Jan 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Like the title asks.

    Thanks for any and all replies,
    SourMilk out
     
  2. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    I haven't tried axcrypt yet on my new Vista 64, but I did create a truecrypt folder just to see and it seemed okay. I will try axcrypt out when I get back from vacation.
     
  3. markoman

    markoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Posts:
    188
    Yes, I use Ax-crypt on vista home premium 64 bit and it works fine.
     
  4. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thank you very much. I just ordered Vista Home Premium 64 bit and now trying to gather programs for it. AxCrypt will definitely be one of them. :D
     
  5. markoman

    markoman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Posts:
    188
    You're welcome :)
     
  6. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Me too, but it is not without a problem, I learned it the hard way. Ussually at first ran after the boot it will not close after closing a document, so any work done in that document will be lost, because it will not save. At second ran of that file it will say, that the document is opened so it can open it read only. The only working solution I have found is, that I have to open a document, close it, that end axcrypt process and then it will work normally until the next boot.
     
  7. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    I don't know if this matters to you, but Sandboxie and Returnil will not work on Vista 64 bit.
     
  8. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Mmm. Maybe I should wait a little longer. Thanks TOMxEU.
     
  9. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    That is good to know. I think software that somehow uses virtual memory must stay within the file structure (32bit or 64bit) of the OS. I did not think about programs like Sandboxie or Returnil. I guess imaging and FDISR (which I am fortunate to own) will be my "virtual" protections.
    Thanks again.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.