Can ATI 9 restore files from an ATI 10 image?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jorge7, Dec 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jorge7

    jorge7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    I have 1 computer at home and 1 in each of my 2 offices at work, all 3 with ATI 9. I create images of data on each computer, carry them around on a portable HD, and store them on the other computers so I always have access to files from my other computers, and have off-site backups as well. If I upgrade one of my computers to ATI 10 will the computers with ATI 9 be able to restore files from an ATI 10 image created on another computer using ATI 10?
     
  2. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't know about TI 9 being able to but the TI 10 rescue disk will work on them all, or are you thinking about mounting the image?
     
  3. jorge7

    jorge7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    I just want to be able to have convenient access to my home computer data files when I am at work by carrying a TI image of my home computer data on my portable HD. I then can just plug in my portable HD to my work computer and restore any files I need from my home computer to a temp folder on my work computer. Also, vice versa. My question is whether having different versions of TI on different computers would prevent that ease of data access. I don't want to bother booting from or using the recovery CDROM.
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    iirc, previous versions of ATI may have compatibility issues with images created using newer versions of ATI.
     
  5. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    I have seen a post here a while ago where a person said it worked for him.
    I know the rescue disk isn't suppose to be backward compatible, but I am not sure about mounting an image.
    I only have TI 9.0
    Keep in mind that you can not mount NTFS to a FAT32 system.
     
  6. jorge7

    jorge7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Again, I am not talking about mounting an image, or about using a rescue disk. I just want to copy individual files and folders from an ATI 10 image (tib) backup file to the HD on a computer with ATI 9 installed.
    Does anyone know for sure whether this can be done? If not, it does not make much sense for me to upgrade to ATI 10 at this time.
     
  7. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello jorge7,

    It really depends which Build of TI 9.0 you are talking about. TI 9.0 Home Build 3567 introduced a new imaging engine, which could read images created by earlier Versions/Builds but earlier Versions/Builds can't read images created via Build 3567 or later. I would think that TI 10.0 also uses the new imaging engine. Therefore you will probably find that TI 9.0 Build 3567 or later (including their respective bootable rescue CDs) will be compatible with images created by TI 10.0. Hopefully someone will confirm.

    Regards
     
  8. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi Menorcaman

    Can you confirm the backward compatibility situation.

    For example can (say) V9 build 3567 and later read images created with (say) V8 ?

    F.
     
  9. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi there foghorne,

    Well, I personally can only go back as far as TI 7.0 but since then it has always been the case.

    Regards
     
  10. jorge7

    jorge7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Posts:
    19
    Thank you for the details, Menorcaman. I was not aware of the change in imaging engine in the last several builds of ATI 9. Sounds like anyone using different builds of ATI 9 on multiple computers should change them all to build 3667, which seems to be the best-debugged build to date for most computer configurations.
    Regarding ability of ATI 9 build 3667 to restore files from images created using ATI 10, has anyone out there actually done this successfully?

    Menorcaman, OT, tengo planeado un viaje a Mallorca en la primavera para montar bicicleta y a Ibiza para visitar a una prima.
     
  11. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Spring is certainly a nice time of the year to visit Mallorca. Some spectacular scenery in the north west of the island that should give all the gears of your mountain bike (and your legs!!) a good workout :D. Regards to your cousin in Ibiza.

    Cheers
     
  12. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
    Hi Menorcaman,

    thank you for the info.

    F.
     
  13. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    When you mount a drive you can copy the files off the virtual drive and paste them on your hard drive. ( am I still off base here? )
    Meanwhile we are still waiting for someone to reply that has tried mounting a TI 10 image with TI 9.0 "Anybody"
     
  14. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello dbknox,

    As jorge said in Post #6, he isn't interested in mounting an image. He just wishes to be able to copy files from his images to other computers. With TI 9.0/10.0 one can choose to restore files from either a Disk/Partition archive or a Files and Folders archive to a different location without first having to mount the image.

    Re your reply at Post #5 - I can confirm that you can only mount an image when running TI under Windows, not from within the Linux based boot rescue environment.

    Regards
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    I have just made several small test backups with TI 10 (build 4,871). A Fat32 partition, a NTFS partition, a two file backups, one from a Fat32 and one from an NTFS partition.

    When using the created .tib files with TI 9 (build 3,677) I could validate all of them successfully. I could mount both the TI 10 images and copy out files as normal. I could also just restore selected files without mounting the image. They seemed to be intact and the ones I verified were correct.

    However, the file backups would not restore properly. No file listings would show where you would normally be able to check the boxes for the files/directories you wanted to restore. If I selected the main checkbox to restore everything and then continued, TI 9 just hung at the "Operations Progress" screen and didn't do anything.

    So it seems that TI 9 can mount and restore files from TI 10 partition images (both Fat32 & NTFS), but can't restore files from the file backups.
     
  16. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    That is what I suspected. jorge7 it seems that you would have to mount the image and copy and paste. I don't really understand why this would be so undesirable. But that's just me.
     
  17. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    Mounting is not required if you pick the option to restore selected files and folders from a partition image.
     
  18. dbknox

    dbknox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Posts:
    511
    Location:
    Canada
    MudCrab thank-you for that clarification I read what you stated in your other post wrong.
    So it seems that TI 9 can mount and restore files from TI 10 partition images (both Fat32 & NTFS), but can't restore files from the file backups.


    In my head I didn't differentiate between file back-ups and image backups
    and jorge7 has his answer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.