can anyone help?

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by kermischocolate, Mar 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kermischocolate

    kermischocolate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    can anyone tell me how to stop my computer resetting it's homepage everytime it shuts down? I've installed the latest version of spybot and spyware blaster. After running them they tell me everything i don't want has been removed. Even though i've reset the homepage to google and deleted all temporary internet files and cookies it's still reset itself to riveria.cc and search-town.com comes up as the homepage.

    Is there anyway i can stop it?

    Any help woud be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks. o_O
     
  2. ljc1174

    ljc1174 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    I had this problem two years ago, I learned quickly due to the help of Wilders how to edit the reg. to completely remove them... but I'm not good at giving the directions... maybe just start with a my computer file search to make sure there aren't still any folders laying around somewhere.

    Someone will come along and help further I'm sure!

    Good Luck!
     
  3. ronny

    ronny Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Belgium
    I am a very satisfied user of spywareguard.

    http://www.wilderssecurity.net/spywareguard.html

    It protects your homepage. You really should try it ;)
     
  4. ljc1174

    ljc1174 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    If you'd like you can read through the thread... it took me awhile to find it.

    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=3427

    ~Lori
     
  5. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,448
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hi kermischocolate,

    Welcome to Wilder's!!!!!

    Go here here and follow the instructions. Since you have already ran SpyBot and/or AdAware, skip step 1 and go to step 2.

    Regards,
    Kent
     
  6. kermischocolate

    kermischocolate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks very much for help. I've now posted the log and am waiting to see what happens.

    Cheers :D :D
     
  7. kermischocolate

    kermischocolate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    It seems to have worked (i hope).

    Below is the hijack log after rebooting my computer.

    Please tell me it's fixed now!!!!

    Thanks so much. :D
     
  8. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,873
    Location:
    New England
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.