Can Acronis respond when they are going to support SATA II drives?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dhc0329, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Most of newer systems are now equipped with SATA II and if the latest ATI software cannot support these drives, it's rather useless.

    I have been a faithful user since ATI7.0 and I can no longer use the software as it fails to recover the images to/from SATA II drives.

    What's Acronis action plan? I would to hear about it.

    tks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2006
  2. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    TrueImage version 9 with two internal SATA II drives, and two external eSATA drives work just fine in my system :p

    John
     
  3. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Can you please tell me the build # and your system specification, including MB, Hard Drive, etc if you don't mind?
     
  4. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    Asus A8N-SLI Motherboard
    AMD Athlon64 3700+
    Two intenal Seagate Barracuda SATA hard drives (not raid)
    Two external Vantec NexStar3 enclosures with Seagate Barracuda SATA hard drives.

    TrueImage build 3677.

    John.
     
  5. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for your info...

    I am rather confused after further testing whether this is SATA2 issue or Intel Chipset issue.

    ATI 9.0 Home worked on following setup:

    ASUS P5W5DG2 WS Professional with Intel 975x chipest
    E6700
    Boot disk on SATA-2 (500GB Maxtor - disk1)
    Backup image on SATA-1 (300GB Maxtor - disk2)
    Recovery using image on SATA-1 worked.


    ATI 9.0 recovery failed with error "E000101F4 Acronis True Image Home has not found any hard disk drives" or cannot even detect the SATA-2 drives on setup below:

    Intel DG965WH with the newer Intel 965 chipset
    E6400
    Boot disk on SATA-2 (seagate 750GB - disk1)
    Backup Image on SATA-2 (seagate 750GB - disk2)

    Looking at other post, I am leaning toward ATI9.0's compatibilty issue
    with the newer 965 chipset..but then again not sure..

    D.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    SATA2 is not eSATA. eSATA is external SATA. The HD in an eSATA situation can be SATA1 or SATA2.
     
  7. kendor

    kendor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I have no problems with three Samsung SATA 2 160 GB internal hard drives and a Hitachi 250 GB removable SATA 2 hard drive. System specifications:

    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600)
    3.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    No memory cache
    1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5WD2-Premium Rev 1.xx
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 0422 05/27/2005
    2048 Megabytes Installed Memory

    I think that it has a 955 chipset.

    Ken
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.