Can Acronis respond when they are going to support SATA II drives?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dhc0329, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Most of newer systems are now equipped with SATA II and if the latest ATI software cannot support these drives, it's rather useless.

    I have been a faithful user since ATI7.0 and I can no longer use the software as it fails to recover the images to/from SATA II drives.

    What's Acronis action plan? I would to hear about it.

    tks.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2006
  2. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    TrueImage version 9 with two internal SATA II drives, and two external eSATA drives work just fine in my system :p

    John
     
  3. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Can you please tell me the build # and your system specification, including MB, Hard Drive, etc if you don't mind?
     
  4. Kapiti

    Kapiti Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Paraparaumu NZ
    Asus A8N-SLI Motherboard
    AMD Athlon64 3700+
    Two intenal Seagate Barracuda SATA hard drives (not raid)
    Two external Vantec NexStar3 enclosures with Seagate Barracuda SATA hard drives.

    TrueImage build 3677.

    John.
     
  5. dhc0329

    dhc0329 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Thanks for your info...

    I am rather confused after further testing whether this is SATA2 issue or Intel Chipset issue.

    ATI 9.0 Home worked on following setup:

    ASUS P5W5DG2 WS Professional with Intel 975x chipest
    E6700
    Boot disk on SATA-2 (500GB Maxtor - disk1)
    Backup image on SATA-1 (300GB Maxtor - disk2)
    Recovery using image on SATA-1 worked.


    ATI 9.0 recovery failed with error "E000101F4 Acronis True Image Home has not found any hard disk drives" or cannot even detect the SATA-2 drives on setup below:

    Intel DG965WH with the newer Intel 965 chipset
    E6400
    Boot disk on SATA-2 (seagate 750GB - disk1)
    Backup Image on SATA-2 (seagate 750GB - disk2)

    Looking at other post, I am leaning toward ATI9.0's compatibilty issue
    with the newer 965 chipset..but then again not sure..

    D.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,490
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    SATA2 is not eSATA. eSATA is external SATA. The HD in an eSATA situation can be SATA1 or SATA2.
     
  7. kendor

    kendor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Posts:
    16
    I have no problems with three Samsung SATA 2 160 GB internal hard drives and a Hitachi 250 GB removable SATA 2 hard drive. System specifications:

    Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (build 2600)
    3.00 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    No memory cache
    1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
    Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5WD2-Premium Rev 1.xx
    Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
    BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. 0422 05/27/2005
    2048 Megabytes Installed Memory

    I think that it has a 955 chipset.

    Ken
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.