Can a laptop runs 18 hrs non-stop?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sweater, Apr 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

sweater Registered Member

Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    I just own for now a pc desktop....and planning to buy soon a laptop pc for mobility. Maybe, laptop could be the only pc I have but I was then wonderin if laptop can run straight 15-18hrs non-stop if plug into electrical outlet without any problem of overheating or something like that....:rolleyes: o_O :cautious:

2. Jo Ann

Jo Ann Registered Member

I have been using a Dell Inspiron laptop for 2 years and I have often left it on (running on AC power) for long durations and never had any problems. Btw, the Inspiron's power-management blacks-out the display and 'throttles' the disk-drive after the laptop has been idle for about an hour or so (and much sooner when it's on battery power)!

Last edited: Apr 28, 2007
  3. aigle

aigle Registered Member

U can do it same via windows builtin Power OPtions in Control Panel.

4. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Depends on the laptop. I have a highend gaming laptop, and I was running it 15hours a day daily. Burnt out the Mobo. I now use it less and also have a fan system to blow air under it.

5. VikingStorm

VikingStorm Registered Member

Yeah, definitely depends. I left my laptop on for a whole month.

6. HAN

HAN Registered Member

IMO, it's directly related to the amount of CPU processing one does. At idle, I think most any laptop could be powered up and run a very long time. But raise the CPU activity to a fairly constant level (which would vary based on cooling capacity) and you may be heading toward a problem. Certainly, adding one of those USB fan cooling bases would help...

7. Peter2150