Can a backup suffice to switch PC to a newer larger HDD?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mrsarkar, Apr 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mrsarkar

mrsarkar Registered Member

Hello, I have very little experience with TrueImage, as all I have used it for was to make backups (that I never had to use), and burn a bootable Acronis CD, which I have never had to use. I have True Image 8.0, and I have made regular backups of my primary 30GB HDD, which has 2 partitions, by saving backups of each partition separately on an external USB storage drive.
    Recently, my PC was infected by Smitfraud C and Virtumonde malware. I could try removing the malware, but am concerned that the primary HDD could be compromised for future attacks.
    If I used Acronis to restore the backups from a month ago (before the infection occured), I am not sure that will erase code (including the infection) written to HDD recently; i.e., I can reincarnate all data from the backup, but the recently-acquired malacious code remains on the HDD. Is my guess correct?

If my guess above is correct, is it possible for me to go this way:
    remove the current primary HDD;
    pop in a new (and larger) 40 GB HDD into the tower;
    use a Maxtor CD-based utility to format and partition the new HDD into 2 partitions;
    insert the Acronis bootable CD;
    hook up my external USB storage drive containing the .tib backup files;
    (BIG QUESTION HERE: Will the Acronis CD have loaded the CD drivers needed to work with my external USB storage drive??)
    Have Acronis (running from the CD) recreate contents of each backup on to the new partition in the new HDD (possible?), such that I don't have to re-register the Windows XP OS, or any other software (possible?)