can a backup image made with ATI, be restored with a bootable media from another ATI?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jonjan, Oct 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jonjan

    jonjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    Hi all :)

    I do a lot of work to help peace and education efforts, and I like all my data and system to be fully backed up. So if my entire computer/drives/etc are fried or surged... I can build the same computer, and use a bootable ATI media to restore an image, and have everything present and fuctional as it was before.


    If I create a backup image of my Hard Drive with my present ATI program,
    can I purchase a new ATI program and create a bootable media,
    and use that new bootable media to restore the image to a new Hard Drive?

    thanks
    Jon
     
  2. max0071

    max0071 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    201
    You can create a boot disk to get into ATI using ATI......no need to buy one. IMHO using an external HD will allow you to restore the backup (image) you can create under ATI. Using the boot disk you can restore the image so as get everything "as it was before"
     
  3. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Yes, the bootable recovery CD is not machine dependent and later versions are backwards compatible with earlier versions.

    Where you might have a bit of trouble is building another PC the same as the original such that the Windows and applications from the old machine will run on the new machine. There are ways to try and get around this but IMO Windows etc aren't the important files. The important files are those that contain your personal data and are available nowhere else at any cost and these you will have.
     
  4. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    If more than your hard drive goes bad, then you will need something like Acronis' Universal Restore to be able to recover a previous image to new hardware.
    You can minimise what might go bad with your computer system by running it off a battery backup UPS. If you do this then the scenario changes and it would most likely be the hard drive that may fail.
     
  5. jonjan

    jonjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    thank you all

    so it sounds like this is possible, as long as the new computer would be exact to the previous computer.


    Another question... Can I also save the bootable media files separately to an online storage, and later download them all to a drive, and have them function as a bootable media device?


    are there any other things I need to consider to make this work....

    I want be able to store the ATI files on an online storage source, in order to restrore all my settings and data (an exact duplicate of my hard drive) to a new computer.

    I can purchase the same exact motherboard (the bios version might be different), same video cards, ram, pentium.... and purchase ATI to create a bootable media... (or have the bootable files uploaded to an online storage source)

    put the bootable media on a USB stick, and download my backup image the the USB stick.... boot with USB stick, and restore the image.... and have my exact system back!


    I can also document my exact bios settings online, and apply them to the new computer, before I do the ATI proceedures.
    *puppy*
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    I don't know your underlying reasoning but I don't consider this to be worth the bother. After about 12 months I would be looking at the new stuff not running around trying to cobble together what is now obsolete.

    Are you living somewhere that computers are fried on a frequent basis? I live in an area of severe summer thunderstorms and haven't blown up anything yet and I don't even fool with a UPS. I do try to shut them down when storms are in the area and I unplug the telephone wire.
     
  7. jonjan

    jonjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    hi,

    i'm wanting to know if it will work, and if the ATI bootable files can be put on an online store source, and be downloaded later, and function as intended.

    To address your personal feelings.. whenever I upgrade my computer or data, I can upload a new backup image file to the online storage source.
    I want to have all of the settings and data saved very securely, in several places, so no matter happens, I can rebuild my system, even from other countries.

    It's very important to me to keep my settings and data safe, as I use them to do peace and education work. The amount of effort to make multiple backups is well worth the security and flexibility it can give :)
     
  8. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hello jonjan,

    I never thought about such a strategy before, but I think it should work if the size of the image files is no problem.

    Regarding the Rescue CD that you would need to carry out a restore, you may create an ISO file of it from the Create bootable Rescue Media tool, upload that ISO file, download it back when/where needed and burn the Rescue CD from it on the spot. You need TI ver.9 build 3567 or later to be able to create the ISO file for the Rescue CD.
     
  9. jonjan

    jonjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    thank you bVolk :)

    Okay, so an iso image will work, as long as i have v.3567 or later.
    I bought my ATI 9.0 on August 1st. I'll check to see if that's 3567 or later.


    What do you think about the other idea.... using the bootable media files:
    bootmenu
    bootwiz
    bootwiz.cfg
    kernal
    mouse
    ramdisk
    flash.run
    ti

    and putting them on a bootable device (USB stick) ?
     
  10. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Not by just copying those files and folder to the stick. That wouldn't make it bootable.

    But, under certain conditions, you can create a bootable Rescue USB stick, again with the Create Bootable Rescue Media tool.

    Whether or not you will be able to obtain a working bootable USB stick will depend on your BIOS, your stick, whether it is recognized by your system as a removable drive or a mass storage device and on how it's formatted.

    Search this forum for "bootable USB" for details.

    You may start here

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=143495&highlight=bootable
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2006
  11. jonjan

    jonjan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Posts:
    30
    thanks bVolk :)

    I'll explore the ISO bootable option then... see if i can put that onto on online storage site.

    Currently, I'm not having success uploading my backup .tib file to MediaMax, or XDrive. They don't seem to accept it o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.