CA Security Suite 2007

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by googull, Oct 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. googull

    googull Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I upgraded my CA eSuite to the new Security Suite 2007 version yesterday. My PC got so slow it felt like it was hit with a virus. I looked at the CPU performance graphs and found a constant sawtooth between 5% and 80% utilization when nothing was being used - and it was never ending! I uninstalled and reinstalled several times with the same result. I reloaded the older iss2 product and took a snap shot of CPU perf to find them flatline at no more than 2% when in the same idle use state, looks the same as when nothing is installed! I have no idea what is making the new product so "busy", too busy in fact for me to use my PC for productive work. It looks like they lost the zonelabs firewall technology, perhaps the new firewall is the issue. Anyone seeing similar? I suppose it is time to get serious about finding a better set of tools.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    just dump ca away theres a reason why they give their av and antispyware out for free, if you want cheap good protection get bullguard,bitdefender, or even free av like avast or antivir
     
  3. googull

    googull Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I am wishing I hadn't purchased an updated esuite subscription 45 days ago.
     
  4. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Anyone know whose firewall technology is being used here?
     
  5. metallicakid15

    metallicakid15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    454
    its tiny firewall with some zonealarm i believe
     
  6. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    At least you are lucky to have been able to install it : on one of my PCs, after install, my PC remained stuck at the first reboot during the XP Boot animated window. I had to restore working configuration from the "F8" boot screen.

    On another one, the Antispam component wouldn't even install, saying the PPCTL.DLL was damaged or locked. I tried several times, to no avail.

    I am really wondering whether this release is still a beta.
     
  7. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I played around with the release candidates and they all seemed to work well for me, i didn't get anything like the huge cpu spikes you are experiencing. The suite does slow a system somewhat depending on the specs.
     
  8. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I was using EZ AV 2005 when creature friend ErikAlbert alerted to me to the fact that when you update and renew your license that forced you into Security Suite setup. They just don't work until you pay for all the modules another words no more just AV screen. The lightness of the product was disappearing. :'(

    So I am not surprised with this problem you are having. CA Security seems to be getting big around the waistline. :p EZ AV 2005 was the last for me with CA products. :(
     
  9. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    O. K. I had heard all ZoneAlarm.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.