C from old disk imaged to C on new, bigger disk - does not boot

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Kraeuterbutter, Jan 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kraeuterbutter

    Kraeuterbutter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    windows XP SP2 does boot BUT freezes !
    (i see the beam going from lower left to lower right
    than a windows logo
    than a light-blue background, with an darker blue, wide beam at top an bottom with an little WinXP-Logo in the middle of the screen and there it freezes..

    also when starting with "security mode"

    so: how can that happen ?
    i have controlled the image, and it says that it is correct.


    have done the following:
    True Image 8.0
    the source is an 20GB plate with an single (primary aktive) partition

    i started TrueImage8.0 from CD and made an Image of this 20GB C: disk
    stored it an an logical partition of my new 250GB disk

    than i restored the image to the first partition (primary, aktive) on my 250GB disk

    (later i restored the image also to the second partition (also primary) on this 250GB disk

    then i have removed the old 20GB disk, and jumpered the new one as MASTER

    i thought, that now it should work..
    but it does not..
    as described above: Windows freezes before entering the Desktop

    meanwhile - 100times connecting, reconnecting, jumpering the two disk i have managed, to damage my old 20GB plate...
    some sektors are damaged and it ALSO don´t want to boot anymore..
    so: i NEED to get the already safed images to work...

    hope you can help !!
    thx !!!







    hab eine alte 20GB Platte im PC...
    frisch installiertes Windows mit allen wichtigen PRogrammen

    jetzt wollte ich davon ein Image erstellen und dann auf meine neue, wesentlich schnellere 250GB Platte übertragen und die dann in den PC als Bootplatte einbauen (statt der alten, langsamen 20GB Platte)

    -->
    erstellen des Images haut hin
    (TrueImage von CD gebootet)

    -->
    überprüfen des Images sagt, dass es in Orndung ist

    -->
    Image liegt dann auf einer anderen Partition

    -->
    dann: Image wieder herstellen, diesesmal auf der neuen Festplatte (die derweil noch als Slave dranhängt)
    in der 1. Partition, Primäre Partition, Aktive und nicht versteckt
    (diese 1. Partion ist grösserwie die wiederherzustellende 20GB Platte war, also 30GB)

    ==>
    wiederherstellen haut hin

    ===>
    die neue Platte als MASTER gejumpert
    und die 20GB Platte ausgebaut

    jetzt sollte der PC mit von der neuen Platte hochfahren..
    tut er aber nur bedingt

    er beginng mit Hochfahren, und bleibt dann irgendwann hängen
    (hellblauer Bildschirm, in der mitte ein kleines Windows-Logo.. aus
    Maus geht, aber sonst nix und die Schose steht)

    selbes auch wenn ich im Abgesicherten Modus hochfahre..

    irgendein Grund warum das nicht funktionieren könnte ??

    habs auch mit Festplatte Klonen versucht --> hier will er allerdings die ganze Platte neu partitionieren, was ich NICHT will da ja auch noch Daten drauf sind
     
  2. Tabvla

    Tabvla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    649
    Location:
    London, England
    Hi Kraeuterbutter, welcome to the Forum :D

    When you imaged the System partition did you remember to include the MBR and the system files?

    The following are the critical components needed to enable XP to boot:

    • The partition containing the OS must be marked as Active
    • There can be only 1 Active partition per disk
    • The disk containing the XP partition must have an MBR
    • The following 3 files must be present in the Root directory of the Active partition : ntldr; boot.ini; ntdetect.com

    At this point you will be able to boot into Safe Mode. To continue to boot into the normal Windows you will need :

    • The files : ntoskrnl.exe and hal.dll. At this point the Registry is loaded.
    • To enable you to logon you need : winlogon.exe and lsass.exe

    If any of the above is missing, corrupted or in the wrong place Windows will not boot.

    What you need to do at this stage is think carefully about how you created the System image and how you restored the image and MBR. Make sure that you did everything to ensure that you had a complete system.

    .
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    How did you partition the 250GB drive?
    You can delete this partition. It will only confuse things.
    What you have done is correct, and it should have worked.

    It's possible that the 20GB drive was failing when you made the image. Did you do a full error check of the drive before the image was made? (CHKDSK /R or in Windows Explorer/Properties/Tools check both boxes under Error Checking and reboot)

    Since Windows starts to boot and displays the Windows logo, you appear to have the necessary boot files. Something goes wrong after the very early part of the boot process, and that could be due to corrupted files.

    Possibly, your best approach may be to do a clean install of Windows on your new 250GB drive. Install TrueImage and use the TrueImage 8 Plug function to mount your image and extract as much of your data from the image as you can.

    You could also try doing an Upgrade in Place reinstallation of Windows over the current installation on your 250GB drive. This might fix the problems with corrupted files and make the system bootable.
     
  4. robbybreeze

    robbybreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Ok..... im a rook to all of this and im very confused about what i should do at the moment, all i kno is that my Dell Latitude isn't booting up completely..... i tried editing my bot.ini but that stll doesnt work, its still tellin me that my ntoskrnl file is missing or what not..... my boot.ini looks like this
    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINNT="Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect

    i went to to the recovery console from my boot floppy that i created and i typed the command "Map" and i searched through all of the files in the directory and i didnt find any "ntoskrnl" file in there does that mean that it is in fact not there is is it jus in my "FAT" drive or whatever that thing is, the thing is... i typed in another command and i found that my operating system is in partition (2) butthere was a (?) by my partition(1) does my boot.ini not include that directory or drive ? someone please explain this to me in the simplest way possible cause i'm goin back to school on monday and i have no workin labtop.... No laptop= No Reports= Bad Grade........ so thanks alot in advanced.....

    oh yea, i forgot to mention that i have no CD drive, just a floppy, if that helps any at all.............
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Kraeuterbutter,

    If you see a blue WinXP screen then your MBR and boot.ini are OK. It sounds like a partition signature problem. I suggest you try Method #3.

    http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/partsigs.htm#method3

    I know this site is about clones and you did an image restore. Make sure you only have the new HD connected (no other HD) when you run fdisk /mbr.

    If you don't have a floppy drive then you can made a BING bootable CD and run "Clear Sig".

    Did it work?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  7. robbybreeze

    robbybreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Well, im not really sure at this moment, because my laptop wasn't in my possession when it happened, but the thing that im worried the most about is the fact that ntoskrnl file wasn't present when i ran the "Map" command on the repair console... could the boot.ini file go corrupt on its own or does it have to be tampered with by the user and/or a program ? and how would i include my "FAT" portion of my drive to the boot.ini setting ? im willing to try anything as of this moment....... get back to me as soon as you can my good sir........ thanks again
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    robbybreeze,

    We need more details to help us understand your problem. What error message did you see when the laptop was returned? Did your friend try to fix it? What error message do you see now? When does it appear in the boot sequence? What were the boot.ini before and after your edits? How many partitions on the HD and in what order? Brand of laptop?
     
  9. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    The ntoskrnl.exe is normally in the C:\Windows\System32 folder. If it isn't there, then that explains the missing file message.

    What do you mean by "or what not"? Are there other error messages about missing files?

    A missing or corrupted file could be due to something as simple as shutting down improperly while the file was in use. It could also be due to a virus, or a failing hard drive.

    Run the CHKDSK /R command to check the hard drive.

    You can copy the ntoskrnl.exe file from another Windows 2000 machine or from the Windows 2000 install CD back where it belongs.
     
  10. robbybreeze

    robbybreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Well, im not sure what he did to it but when i try to boot the laptop it says that systemced is missing or corrupt. then i read from another post that i should copy 3 files from win 2k: ntldr, ntdetect, and boot.ini..... i did that and i booted from the floppy that i stored it to.... it then brought me to an OS selection screen, then i picked Windows 2000 Professional and the next screen gives me the missng ntoskrnl.exe error, but when i went into repair console i typed "Map" and it shows me the drives that are on my pc,it shows that my drive C: is in partition 2, and there is this 31mb drive that has a (?) by it that is in partition 1.... there is also another drive with a question mark that is 8mb... my question is how would i include these into my boot image ? Alos, i checked the directory whre it lists all of the files in my C:Winnt\system folder, but i do not see the file ntoskrnl....... I have a dell latitutde C640, and a 20Gb harddrive... im running win 2000
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    And the two boot.ini?
     
  12. robbybreeze

    robbybreeze Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    i have one boot.ini file on a floppy and one that was in my C:Winnt\System directory, is it possible to copy the file from that directory to my floppy so ican see what exactly is on the boot.ini file in the directory ? if so, what command do itype in ad how exactly do i do it, cause im a newbie with all of this technical stuff.........
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    robbybreeze,

    You mentioned you have edited your boot.ini. A before and after result would help.

    I don't use Win 2000 but in Win XP, boot.ini is in the C: drive root. I thought Win 2000 was the same. Is your Win 2000 FAT32 or NTFS?

    You don't have a CD drive so...

    To edit NTFS use EditBini.

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/utilities.html

    To edit FAT32 use pqfile.exe

    http://network.mpei.ac.ru/lang/rus/faqw2kxp/jsifaq/rh4746.htm

    Or BING for both file systems.

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/upgrade.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  14. gandalf44

    gandalf44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Had a similar problem. used acronis to format second drive after the system shut down and went through the process of sycronizing with operating system i found when restarting that windows would freeze at the logo screen. Did as Brian K suggested and it worked great can now get back into a fully working system. So thanks very much for your invaluable help.

    If you see a blue WinXP screen then your MBR and boot.ini are OK. It sounds like a partition signature problem. I suggest you try Method #3.

    http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/partsigs.htm#method3

    I know this site is about clones and you did an image restore. Make sure you only have the new HD connected (no other HD) when you run fdisk /mbr.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.