Byte verify T Horse problem

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by niteloner, Oct 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. niteloner

    niteloner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Norton and AVG Antivirus dialog boxes are indicating the presence of this TH.
    When I run the updated scans, they both indicate Ii am free of viruses. How do i get rid of the Trojan? o_O :( :( :doubt: :: :eek:
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2004
  2. niteloner

    niteloner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Byte Verify

    Any of of the computer wizards or experts or maybe a technician that can help me with the T Horse Byte Verify problem that I posted. i need urgent help!!!
    :oops: o_O o_O :(
     
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi niteloner,

    Can you please give a little bit more info ;)
    What is your Windows version?

    You said that NAV and AVG were giving warnings about this one.
    I assume that you were not running both AV's at the same time...

    What did you do when you got those alerts?
    Did you let NAV and/or AVG delete/repair/quarantine that file?

    When you let TDS-3 do a full system scan (with everything in its settings on highest), were NAV and AVG temporarily disabled (that is needed)?

    If you still have that infected file, could you please submit it to:
    submit@diamondcs.com.au

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  5. vickie

    vickie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Posts:
    43
    I have WinXP Home. My NAV scan is also showing Trojan.ByteVerify. Scan results show "access denied" - "repair failed". Every now and again this TBV and also Download.Ject and MHTMLredir.exploit shows up with the NAV scan (there are several different dates in the Virus Alerts log) all with the same msg "access denied/repair failed" in Action Taken. From reading the bulletin re TBV patch,which says "if version shows #3810 or higher - do nothing - its uptodate" My version shows the foll: "Java Version 5.00.3810". Why then are these trojans showing up when I visit certain websites..if my Java Version is the latest? Would appreciate any replies.
     
  6. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hope the suggestions Snowbound gave you to patch first of all your windows helps you when visiting those sites. It blocks the exploit from being used on your system at all.

    Then FanJ's questions and recommendation when you scanned with any of your scanners if all the others were completely closed (TDS not necessary, only don't scan with it during a scan with any other scanner at the same time.)

    So: close all your scanners, including all their resident protection too, --for AVG open the GUI, uncheck all the options so the systray icon greys out-- and the same for NAV. Close them all completely.
    Configure TDS to scan with all options and highest sensitivity in the scan control and let it run through all there is. Close as many other programs as possible to give TDS all scanning space and speed there is while you drink your coffee.
    In the end in the bottom console rightclick one of the files and save to text; include that scandum.txt into your next posting and we can tell you which files we want you to submit and what to do with the others, don't close that alerts window yet for your own ease.
    Oh and you make sure in the windows folder options all files are shown including their extensions.
    Looking forward to your scan results.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2004
  7. niteloner

    niteloner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Hey, guys...

    Just to clarify... I have Win XP Home Ed.

    No...I have Norton and AVG Antivirus pop-up on my screen claiming I have the virus. When I run the scans, separate, they both come out negative. Hope you have it clear now... :D :)
     
  8. niteloner

    niteloner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Ok...That didnt work either...I just got a pop-up from Norton claiming i have Byte verify in this file:

    C:RECYCLERS\1-5-21-602162358-1343024091-8Dc1.class



    What do I do nowo_O :mad: o_O :(
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    niteloner, Clean out your recycle bin should clear it :)

    HTH Pilli
     
  10. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    In addition to this:
    you might like to disable Norton first to have all access to cleansing the recycler. Hope that helps and is clean when you start Norton again after that?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.