Buying new computer

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TheSpaniard, Sep 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheSpaniard

    TheSpaniard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Javea Spain
    I am going to buy a new computer.

    I have a fully paid up version of Acronis TI which is on my
    present computer, and a working copy of BartPE.

    Can I use my .exe file to install Acronis TI onto my new computer
    and add drivers for my new computer to BartPE, or do I have to
    buy a new copy of Acronis TI.

    Thank you.
     
  2. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    My understanding is that you need one license for each computer that you are backing up. So if you intend to use Acronis on the old computer, you would need a second license for the new computer.

    If you are abandoning the old computer, you do not need to purchase a second copy of Acronis - you are merely transferring Acronis from the old computer to the new computer.
     
  3. TheSpaniard

    TheSpaniard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Javea Spain
    Thanks for the reply LenC, that's what I figured.

    I assume there is no need to make a new BartPE CD, but just put the new drivers from the new compter on to it.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You will have to add the new drivers to the correct folder of your BartPE setup and then recreate the BartPE CD. You can't just "add" the drivers to your existing CD.

    If you still have PEbuilder installed then it's a simple matter to add the drivers. I ususally keep my installed so it's easy to recreate when necessary.
     
  5. TheSpaniard

    TheSpaniard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Location:
    Javea Spain
    Thanks MudCrab, that's cleared my query up nicely.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.