Buster Sandbox Analyzer

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Buster_BSA, May 4, 2020.

  1. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    This message:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-plus-0-9-0.439305/page-2#post-3022811

    make me to believe there is a bug in Sandboxie related to context menus.

    Context menu is a key in the registry. A key used by BSA to check for Sandboxie's presence. If the key is not present BSA will consider Sandboxie is not installed in the system.

    So let's wait until David fixes that bug and then check again, please.
     
  2. dFosB

    dFosB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    HSH
    In fact I can see context item in menu:
    Screenshot 2021-07-30 191205.png

    But once used it shows Plus UI rather than Classic one:
    Screenshot 2021-07-30 191205.png

    So maybe it is an issue.
    So my question again is: does BSA support Plus UI of Sandboxie?

    Looks quite weird. Why don't check it in processes list or in loaded drivers list?
    Although why it is necessary to check? BSA is an advanced instrument so it's quite unusual one tries to use it without Sandboxie. At least there should be an option to disable such check, shouldn't there?
     
  3. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    BSA checks at "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT" if "'*\shell\sandbox\command" key exists.

    It's not only used to know if Sandboxie is installed, it's also used to locate "Start.exe". It was done that way because Sandboxie installation folder may be different in each system, so installation folder could not be hardcoded.

    I didn't test BSA with Sandboxie Plus but it should work just fine because core components are the same than Classic.

    When I have time I'll check what's going on.
     
  4. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,096
    Location:
    Viena
    The newer versions os Sbie+ set up these registry keys with SandMan.exe instead of start exe to provide a uniform modern UI for the box selection.
    Probably this is the issue.
     
  5. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    As soon as I've a moment I'll take a look, thanks!
     
  6. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    I just tried with Sandboxie 5.51.0 and worked fine. Try with Classic instead Plus and let me know if it works.

    [​IMG]

    Translate, please.
     
  7. Stukalide

    Stukalide Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    "I can't find Sandboxie. Try running BSA as administrator!"
     
  8. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    Did you try using Classic version already?
     
  9. dFosB

    dFosB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    HSH
    I think we have a misunderstanding here.
    As far as I understood you and DavidXanatos are working on making BSA compatible with Plus version, aren't you?
     
  10. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    No, we are not. Plus version should be compatible with BSA but I never tried it so I can not say it for sure.

    Try with Classic version to check if it works and let me know, please.
     
  11. dFosB

    dFosB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    HSH
    Classic version works.
    So no ETA for Plus support?
     
  12. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    David was right, the problem was in Plus version "Start.exe" string was not present in the registry.

    Try this version and let me know if it works fine, please:

    https://1fichier.com/?kqn1ol8r4ewwqtbkr2u6
     
  13. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    Try BSA 1.92 and let me know if it works, please.

    https://1fichier.com/?kqn1ol8r4ewwqtbkr2u6
     
  14. dFosB

    dFosB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2020
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    HSH
    Didn't test it in operation, but at least it starts OK.
    Thank you!
     
  15. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    Thanks to you for testing! :)
     
  16. Buster_BSA

    Buster_BSA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    746
    Released Buster Sandbox Analyzer 1.92.

    Now BSA is compatible with Sandboxie Plus version.
     
  17. Stukalide

    Stukalide Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    Very awesome, thanks Buster! An indispensable tool, and happy that it's compatible with Sandboxie Plus.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.