Bullguard 7 Beta

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Sjoeii, Aug 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    A week ago BullGuard 7.0 beta started.
    I must say this is really good.

    Any BullGuard users here?
    I'm curious about your opinion about BullGuard
     
  2. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Hey, I didnt notice it was out.

    Any chance to get a screenshot?
    What is new?
    Resource usage?

    Gimme some info :D
     
  3. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Been dooing some research and it looks like Bullguard havde dumped sygate and now instead they have incorporated outpost as firewall :)
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    ....which is a very good thing! ;)
     
  5. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    is av their own,if i remeber they got it from someone else..
     
  6. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, Bitdefender (that is, if they did not dump that one too;) )
     
  7. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    plz someone post the link to the related info about this beta...
     
  8. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    You can no longer obtain the beta, as BullGuard only wanted 2000 testers.
     
  9. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Sorry it's a closed Beta test. Anyone using BullGuard 6.1?
    cpu? BullGuard .exe 6.525 BullGuard Updat.exe 4.560 That's all

    It's great and really low cpu after using KIS 6.0
     
  10. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Yes
    Anti Virus is still Bitdefender en Firewall became Outpost Pro
     
  11. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    can anyone of you beta-testers,plzzz,post a screenshot and tell us what all has been added or improved..
     
  12. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I remember that BullGuard told me that version 7 will also have an antispyware module. Are they now using the BitDefender antispyware technology or is it some other company's technology?
     
  13. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    It has an antispyware module indeed. It is integrated in AntiVirus so I think it is Bitdefender but I'm not sure. But most important it works great
     
  14. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Hi Anti-spyware is their own custom made module. I must say I'm impressed with it.
    I normally use KIS 6 but BullGuard is really a good piece of work
     
  15. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Custom made module? o_O

    If you want to check if BullGuard's AntiSpyware uses BD engine, then search for files on your computer named e_spyw.***

    These are the update files for the spyware detection capabilities of BitDefender. If they are present in BullGuard, then BullGuard should be using BitDefender engine for AntiSpyware.

    The only problem with BullGuard for me is that its very costly :(
     
  16. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    I don't know where you are from. In Europe it is about € 59 per year this is for three licenses and backup. But I must say that I don't know what the prices will be for 7.0
     
  17. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I live in a developing nation in Asia where the per capita income is much lower than some European countries. As a student, the maximum I am able to afford is about $44 for one year's services. That is why I feel BullGuard is costly...
     
  18. Pacoup

    Pacoup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    No problem guys, I'm one of the beta testers of the current Beta.
    We are almost at Beta 3. xD
    I was also chosen to be in the first 300 to get it a couple of days before everyone else.

    Hehe, so I got some screenshots and some info.

    http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m74/Pacoup/Bullguard-Beta-7.jpg

    Seriously, I've never seen an Antivirus work so well.
    As far as I can say, it doesn't eat memory quite as much as Symantec does even though it uses dynamic checking. It's ability to locate viruses on your computer is very powerful too, it also scans through archives etc.

    The anti-spam, well, it's quite basic, blocks some stuff I beleive but my AdAware and PC Tools still discover some more hundreds of em.

    On the firewall side though, this one is a genius.
    Did you ever dream of a firewall that didn't blocked your games, did you ever dream of a firewall that doesn't make your downloads slow. And yes it does protect you.
    Well Bullguard has the one for you.

    This is a very well built utility, but I will soon put it on a test on my test computer. The virus I'm going to get is one that you accept to download through a crack. Most firewalls and antivirus (like Symantec & McAfee) skip it because they thought you were sure to execute that file. Nontheless, I did that with 6 different security suites from Symantec and McAfee and they failed to do anything, the time they would take to do action would lead to the death of my computer.
    Well well, we shall see if Bullguard is capable of a little more, at the demise of a little bit more of memory usage (dynamic protection).
     
  19. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    well it seems bullguard has finally made it to the top.
    pacoup,you must be knowing the firewall present in bullguard is outpost as told by sjoeii.
     
  20. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    You bet.
    scan engine works great and effective. PC keeps speed
     
  21. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Hallo to everybody. I'm a new registered member in this forum.
    Could you attach screenshots and explain something about firewall?
    At the moment I'm using Sunbelt Kerio. Is bullguard firewall settable like kerio (or outpost, as it uses his engine)?

    Thanks alot.
    Mike
     
  22. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Beta 3 is running. Ans it is running smooth.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    A new support plug in is inserted. works pretty well I must say. Wityh the chat option you have a immediate response
     

    Attached Files:

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.