Bugreport for Universal Restore in WinPE

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Unimatrix, Oct 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    Hello Together, Dear Acronis Support,

    the Bugreport is for Software Version:
    Acronis True Image Enterprise Server® with Acronis Universal Restore® version 9.1 build 3.718

    The Universal Restore option does not work correct in the WinPE enviroment.

    The error occurs e.g, if you want to restore a Dell Poweredge System (Windows 2000 Server) to a standard IDE Harware.

    After analysing the problem, i found that the Universal Restore option does not execute the acpipic_up task, see below a part from TI logfile.(successfull restore)

    Driver for 'PCI\VEN_8086&amp,DEV_244&SUBSYS_8043104&REV_04' has been successfully installed.
    Driver for 'acpipic_up' has been successfully installed.
    Driver for 'primary_ide_channel' has been successfully installed.
    Driver for 'secondary_ide_channel' has been successfully installed.

    I think, the acpipic_up task configures the hall section in the restored OS Image.
    Without the acpipic_up task the restored Windows 2000 Server hangs on boot.

    To solve this problem, i write a programm to help the Universal Restore Option to execute the missing acpipic_up task.

    For testing, i do the following:

    Restore the Dell Poweredge System, 2 CPU, 2 GB RAM, 200 GB SCSI Raid 5 to
    a Dell Latitude C640 Notebook with 1 CPU, 256 MB RAM, 40 GB IDE Disk
    Result: I get a running Windows 2000 Server System on the Notebook.

    After this successfully restore under WinPE, i integrate my programm in the BartPE enviroment with mustang ATI Plugin.
    Build a bootable cd and restore the server image to the Notebook again.
    Result: I get again a running server system.

    The last test was a restore to a standard IDE 1,6 GHz Intel System with 1 GB RAM and 80 GB Disk. Get a running system.


    The advantage by using this little bugfix program is, that now the WinPE enviroment provides the same results as the Acronis Linux based Rescue Media.



    Added at 10-23-2006, 09:26 MEZ

    Today, i tried a restore from a Dell Poweredge Server System ( Windows 2003 + Domain Controller) to a standard IDE 1,6 GHz Intel System with 1 GB RAM an also to a Dell Latitude C640, 256MB RAM.

    Results:
    Without the prog. the server hangs after bootlogo with flashing underscore.
    With the prog. the server boots to the login screen, autodetect all hardware and runs like the old one.


    Unimatrix
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  2. thatsmeme

    thatsmeme Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Unimatrix,

    Is it possible to use your programm ?

    Thanks

    Thatsmeme
     
  3. ataylor

    ataylor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    i think i am having the same problem. What are the steps you used to solve or can i have a copy of the program you used to fix the issue?
     
  4. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    Hi thatsme,
    after more tests, i will share the source code to all.

    Thanx for reply.

    Unimatix
     
  5. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    hi ataylor,
    after more tests, i will share the source code to all.

    Thanx for reply
    Unimatix
     
  6. mustang

    mustang Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    905
    New versions of my plugins for the Corporate family of TI9 are available at my website.

    These new versions include Universal Restore Assistant provided by Unimatrix. The assistant provides the acpi bugfix.
     
  7. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    Hello Together, Dear Acronis Support,

    to use the full Power of the Universal Restore Option in Windows PE do the following steps.

    Download ura.exe
    http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/ura_release.zip

    Copy your WinPE files to a directory on hardisk.
    Copy ura.exe to the top of the directory, see picture.

    go to i386\system32
    remove the readonly attribute from "STARTNET.CMD"
    open "STARTNET.CMD" with your texteditor.
    insert "Call "%systemdrive%\ura.exe" before the "factory -winpe" line.
    save "STARTNET.CMD"
    ---------------------------
    Example:
    Call %systemdrive%\ura.exe
    factory -winpe
    ---------------------------
    Then use the Acronis WinPE ISO Builder to build the Acronismedia.iso
    Burn the iso file as cd, in nero use the "burn image" funktion.
    Enjoy.

    For BartPE and xpe use the mustang plugins!
    Special thanks to mustang for his grand plugin work and for providing a download area to ura.exe

    Thread closed.

    Unimatrix
     

    Attached Files:

    • pe1.gif
      pe1.gif
      File size:
      2.5 KB
      Views:
      597
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2006
  8. FBMachines

    FBMachines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    229
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks to you both. Keep up the good work!

    Corey
     
  9. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Hi Unimatrix,

    I tried to restore a Dell Inspiron laptop from a Dell XPS laptop with 3718 using Mustang's new plug in which includes ura.exe and PeBuilder 3.10a.

    The restored computer would not boot. No error message, just a black screen.

    Do I still need to use your method below with Mustang's plug in? I looked under i386/system 32 and there was no file with the name startnet.cmd.

    I am using Windows XP Pro Sp2 with latest updates.

    Can you give me any help?

    Many thanks,
     
  10. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Silver, if you cannot get anything else to work, try this. I haven't tested this but was always curious if it would work in a situation like you're in.

    What you want to do is a Repair installation of Windows. But the correct Repair option, which will not erase your existing programs or data, is the one that appears after the EULA page. So ignore any options that say recover or repair until you get to the EULA page. This includes one of the first options that says "press F2 to enter the Automated Recovery ...". Ignore it.

    You will need to have your Windows Product ID handy.
     
  11. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53

    Hello Silver,
    this is only for WinPE.
    Did you try the restore with the linux media?
    Please post your logfile from the universal restore.
    Unimatrix
     
  12. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    It works fine with the Acronis linux media, but it is too slow.

    Do you mean the log file that is generated from PE Builder? I am not aware of any other.

    Attached is the pebuilder.log

    Many thanks for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    hi,
    i mean the log from the restore operation.
    please download the plugin again and rebuild the bartpe cd.
    the look after your restore to the laptop at:

    b:\documents and settings\default user\application data\acronis\trueimage\logs
    you will find a XXXXXXX.tib.log file

    please post this file.
     
  14. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    I just installed version 3238. I backed up and here is the log file from the backup. Since I can't boot to the restored laptop, how do I get the log file from that machine...if that is what you mean.

    Many thanks,
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    ok, thats the log file that i need, but i cant see a universal restore in this file.
    There are only entries for a incremental backup.

    first aid:
    1.) please download the mustang plugin again.
    2.) extract the file to a folder
    3.) copy the eg.TrueImageCorporateWorkstation9 to your plugin folder
    4.) run TICW9-Get_Files+Lic.cmd
    5.) build your boot cd
    6.) do a restore with "Universal Restore Option"

    post the log file.
     
  16. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    That is the problem I have. How can I post a log file for a Universal Restore if I cannot boot the machine that I restore to using the Mustang plug in and Universal Restore from a backup of the other Dell? All I get is a black screen upon boot when I restore from the other Dell with Mustang's plug in using Universal Restore.

    Everything works fine if I do a Universal Restore with the Acronis linux disk from a backup of the other Dell or just a plain restore from a backup of the same machine using Mustang's plug in.

    Do you mean do a restore from a backup of the same machine using Universal Restore? Is that the log file you want?

    Many thanks for any help.
     
  17. Unimatrix

    Unimatrix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    Sorry, but i dont understand what your saying. if you boot the target dell laptop with the bartpe cd and do a universal restore with Acronis True Image you will get a log file in ramdrive "B:" (Path see my post in this thread). This log file is the one that i need.
    To boot a dell laptop from cd use the f12 key to get the boot menue.

    Did you use a usb drive to host the tib file?
    Please explane step by step your actions for restore.

    Thanx
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2006
  18. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Thanks for the explanation. I did not understand that b:\ meant the RAM drive.

    It is restoring again now and I will post the log file from the RAM drive right after it restores.

    I am restoring from an external usb drive. I am sure I can copy the log to that and will post it shortly....

    Many thanks,
     
  19. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    Thanks for the explanation. I did not understand that b:\ meant the RAM drive.

    It is restoring again now and I will post the log file from the RAM drive right after it restores.

    I am restoring from an external usb drive. I am sure I can copy the log to that and will post it shortly....

    Many thanks,


    Unimatrix,

    I did the new restore again with Mustang's plugin and the restored machine booted this time.

    The only problem that I have now is that the restored machine will not restore the Primary and Secondary IDE channels. This also occurred with the Acronis disk restore. I am researching this now. When I boot Windows tries to install the drivers but I get the following error message:

    There is a problem installing this hardware.
    IDE channel
    An error occurred during the installation of the device.
    Driver is not intended for this platform.

    I have attached the log from the RAM drive. I also have the log from the Acronis Restore that I copied right after the restore phase while in BartPE if that will help.

    Many thanks for all of your help
     

    Attached Files:

  20. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    929
    I got it working. Apparently, from my research, I had to uninstall Alcohol 120%, shut down, remove my DVD drive from the laptop, reboot [then the drivers installed with no problem], shut down, reinstall the DVD drive, reboot.....All is well!!!

    Many thanks to you and Mustang for your help!! I know you both have put alot of effort into this plugin's success.

    I have been working on this problem for about six months, and finally I can keep a backup laptop for my wife, and every now and then reimage it from my main machine. Saves lots of time uninstalling and installing programs, updates, etc. I do alot of testing and my system is changing constantly.

    The BartPE is at least twice as fast at restoring as the Acronis disk.

    :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
  21. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    Thanks every one this will be very useful
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.