Bug Report: Do you see what I see?

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by earth1, Oct 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. earth1

earth1 Registered Member

Hi,

I am new to Process Guard and to Wilders, so please bear with me. I apologize for this long introductory post.

Process Guard has incredible potential, in my opinion, but after 4 crashes in 6 days on an otherwise stable system, I started hunting for clues. It usually crashed shortly after a script that piped data through multiple programs in succession, so I tried running an endless script. The results were both simple and strange.

I've tried to make it reproducible and hope to find out if it happens for anyone else. The following DOS batch file (crash.bat) is the simplest example that crashed my system.

@echo off
    :AGAIN
    cmd /c echo "Here we go again"
    goto AGAIN

If I open a DOS window and run crash.bat with "Execution Protection" disabled (Protection Settings), everything is fine. It would probably run forever. However, if I run it with "Execution Protection" enabled, the system is doomed.

There are two different scenarios.

1) A quick, clean blow to the head:
    Click on the 'PG' tray-icon, and close the main window of procguard.exe (making the 'PG' icon disappear from the tray), then open a DOS window and run crash.bat. Within a minute, I get an Application Error on dcsuserprot.exe (reference out of bounds). At this point, you can still close some windows, but the system is pretty much dead. You can manage a graceful shutdown using Ctrl-Alt-Delete-->Shutdown.

2) Slow death by strangulation: