bug in thunderbird

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4 Beta Forum' started by basl, Feb 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I updated nod32 v4b1 to v4rc1, and now it is not possible to read my rss feeds within mozilla thunderbird, unless I turn of email client protection.

    When I was using beta1 it all worked fine.
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    You are running beta software and this is a Thunderbird bug? How is that?
     
  3. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    What is your question exactly?

    I personally think that nod32 is fetching and scanning the rss feed, but not properly reassemble it back into thunderbird.

    It shouldn't be a big problem, as it always has worked before.
     
  4. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,034
    I think the Thunderbird module in general is pretty buggy "as-is".
     
  5. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    thx for your response...
     
  6. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4,756
    Location:
    New York City
    I agree. I sent beta support a bug with NOD32 regarding email tags in Thunderbird along with a SysInspector log and haven't heard back from them.
     
  7. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I tried disabling the tags, and it didnt work either. So does eset reads this forum, or should I email the bug?
     
  8. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Eset mods read the forum but in order to get the bug to developers you should email them.

    btw. I stopped using thunderbird a month ago because I kept receiving "blank" emails, I mean It connected to the server but the emails came blank, no subject, no text, nothing, and I'm not sure it was a nod bug because the error was not consistant, besides when I installed the first beta I had the problem that attachements came in broken in several peaces and could not be oppened.
    I posted the bug in the thunderbird forums aswell but no answer whatsoever so I decided to go back to outlook for the time being.
     
  9. VidKo

    VidKo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I am having the same problem.

    Partial fix:

    Click on rss feeds up and down (1. and 3.) a few times, and the message (2.) will be shown:

    http://www.shrani.si/f/1N/3T/4Zz2fdpR/tb.png

    It's not a permanent fix, but just a temporary.
     
  10. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    You can fix this when you turn off Antivirus and Antispam Protection > Email Client Protection > Email Clients > Email To Scan> Read Email.

    It helps on my machine.
     
  11. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    thx, i guess this temp solution should cover it.
     
  12. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I have been using both Thunderbird 3 Beta 1, and the later nightly builds alongside Eset AV4 RC, with NO issue. My O/S is Windows 7 *64 (Beta)

    Perhaps those with issues should consider trying Thunderbrid 3 Beta 2 that came out the other day. You never know it may help solve your issues. It can be downloaded here: http://www.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/thunderbird/early_releases/downloads/
     
  13. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I was thinking about installing the new beta2, now I will. thx

    ps:
    Looks like it works ok.

    One thing I dont like about the beta is that it's installing next to the current thunderbird, so it doesnt upgrade it. I hope this is a feature only used in beta, cause I don't like it. At least give me a choice whether to upgrade or install next to the current installation, like in the opera browser.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  14. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,908
    Location:
    USA
    That is one of the reasons I don't use Betas, they also don't have extras for example help files and otherthings not nessary for development only, and for a while I used Opera's preview or Betas and I realise that they are not ment to be used as you would a final release of Opera and must be installed seperatly. But many people don't.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.