bug in thunderbird

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4 Beta Forum' started by basl, Feb 23, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I updated nod32 v4b1 to v4rc1, and now it is not possible to read my rss feeds within mozilla thunderbird, unless I turn of email client protection.

    When I was using beta1 it all worked fine.
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    You are running beta software and this is a Thunderbird bug? How is that?
     
  3. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    What is your question exactly?

    I personally think that nod32 is fetching and scanning the rss feed, but not properly reassemble it back into thunderbird.

    It shouldn't be a big problem, as it always has worked before.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    I think the Thunderbird module in general is pretty buggy "as-is".
     
  5. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    thx for your response...
     
  6. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,741
    Location:
    New York City
    I agree. I sent beta support a bug with NOD32 regarding email tags in Thunderbird along with a SysInspector log and haven't heard back from them.
     
  7. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I tried disabling the tags, and it didnt work either. So does eset reads this forum, or should I email the bug?
     
  8. MasterTB

    MasterTB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Posts:
    547
    Location:
    Paran?, Argentina
    Eset mods read the forum but in order to get the bug to developers you should email them.

    btw. I stopped using thunderbird a month ago because I kept receiving "blank" emails, I mean It connected to the server but the emails came blank, no subject, no text, nothing, and I'm not sure it was a nod bug because the error was not consistant, besides when I installed the first beta I had the problem that attachements came in broken in several peaces and could not be oppened.
    I posted the bug in the thunderbird forums aswell but no answer whatsoever so I decided to go back to outlook for the time being.
     
  9. VidKo

    VidKo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I am having the same problem.

    Partial fix:

    Click on rss feeds up and down (1. and 3.) a few times, and the message (2.) will be shown:

    http://www.shrani.si/f/1N/3T/4Zz2fdpR/tb.png

    It's not a permanent fix, but just a temporary.
     
  10. estbird

    estbird Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    97
    You can fix this when you turn off Antivirus and Antispam Protection > Email Client Protection > Email Clients > Email To Scan> Read Email.

    It helps on my machine.
     
  11. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    thx, i guess this temp solution should cover it.
     
  12. pbmcmlxxi

    pbmcmlxxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Posts:
    131
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    I have been using both Thunderbird 3 Beta 1, and the later nightly builds alongside Eset AV4 RC, with NO issue. My O/S is Windows 7 *64 (Beta)

    Perhaps those with issues should consider trying Thunderbrid 3 Beta 2 that came out the other day. You never know it may help solve your issues. It can be downloaded here: http://www.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/thunderbird/early_releases/downloads/
     
  13. basl

    basl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I was thinking about installing the new beta2, now I will. thx

    ps:
    Looks like it works ok.

    One thing I dont like about the beta is that it's installing next to the current thunderbird, so it doesnt upgrade it. I hope this is a feature only used in beta, cause I don't like it. At least give me a choice whether to upgrade or install next to the current installation, like in the opera browser.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  14. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    That is one of the reasons I don't use Betas, they also don't have extras for example help files and otherthings not nessary for development only, and for a while I used Opera's preview or Betas and I realise that they are not ment to be used as you would a final release of Opera and must be installed seperatly. But many people don't.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.