Bug in Dr Web

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ronjor, Sep 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,724
    Location:
    Texas
    Secunia
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Considering that the vulnerability is with the engine itself, Dr.Web, Virus Chaser and anything else that uses Dr.Web engine is vulnerable.

    But older versions of Dr.Web are unaffected.
     
  3. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    heh , after disabling "scan running program and modules" to avoid my computer to freeze at every update , now i also need to disable something else ? ... after another standard rating at the AV comparative , heck even free AV are better now , i wonder what i was thinking when i've bought my licence. well , whatever , thx for the info Ronjor.
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Bad thing is that even though their support team is very nice, I've only gotten any sample added to their database once. The other times, I had to send the samples through Virus Chaser to get them added to the database.

    Still, I'm not jumping the gun. I have full faith that Dr.Web 5.0 will be a decent product.
     
  5. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    per: Pavel Ershov, Doctor Web, Ltd on the DrWeb forum "It is already corrected".
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    How can it be corrected without an engine version update? o_O
     
  7. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    Here is the reply form the D.Web Forum.
    BC.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i dont speak that lanuage sorry
     
  9. Badcompany

    Badcompany Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    RUNCORN UK.
    I have full faith that Dr.Web 5.0 will be a decent product.


    Hi Firecat,
    Do you know when they will release version 5.
    Badcompany.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2006
  10. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    By Babelfish website translation it states what to make of it. Pavel Ershov responds that it already is fixed. No other explanation is given as to how. Must of been some internal downloadable scripting tweak eh?...o_O :eek: ;)
     
  11. Severyanin

    Severyanin AV Expert

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Posts:
    57
    Hello everyone,

    Yes the problem has been solved without the engine update - fortunately, our technology allows us to do it by issuing a vdb add-on. A more fundamental research on the vulnerabiulity is been conducted in our Lab. We shall inform you as soon as we have the final solution.
    But Dr.Web is safe again since yesterday afternoon.
     
  12. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Excellant news and thanks much for the update Severyanin...:thumb: :cool:
     
  13. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Manual configuration or what? :eek: You are supposed to Edit the .ini file? No GUI? :doubt:
     
  14. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    You shouldn't need to do any of this, they corrected the problem via a DrWEB update...:)
     
  15. Unity

    Unity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Posts:
    112
    Location:
    Toulouse ~ France
    hmmm , i don't see Dr web listed on Jotti anymore ...
     
  16. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I just noticed that too. Whats up with that? :eek:
     
  17. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Dunno, but they're back.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. parham
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    783
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.