Bug for administrator

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jon1, May 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jon1

    jon1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    I am using Acronis True Image Home 10.0 build 4942 under Windows XP.
    When I run backup with or without backup locations it will loose LAST RUN TIME and LAST RESULT in the Scheduled Tasks Screen if I schedule it to “Do not start automatically” or “One time only”.
    If I leave the screen with X in right upper corner it will be gone immediately.
    If I leave the screen with operations-exit then it will stay until reboot and then gone.
    The only way I can get around it, is to schedule it monthly at night and cross my fingers that the computer is down at that time.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jon1,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please clarify, what result are you trying to reach?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    It cold be the way ATI is programmed. It wouldn't be the first program that only displays last and next run times if and only if there are scheduled run times. Offhand, I can think of Zone Alarm AV/AS as another. Myself, I don't see the wisdom in this. Surely, even if you are running manually, you might want to be able to easily see the last run time.

    I suggest adding it to the wish list.


     
  4. jon1

    jon1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    To Acronis Support.
    Thanks Shieber and Marat for the answers.
    Thanks Shieber, you have understood this fully.
    Of course I want to back up certain things manually.
    I do full backup of operating systems when they have been updated and polished.
    I do not have enormous disks, but 2 disks of 200 GB which I use to the full.
    This is crucial and important information.
    Thanks.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jon1,

    Please have a look at the reply in this thread <Scheduled Tasks>, which should answer your question.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    lol, yes that thread says just what jon1 has discovered -- of course, that's no help to him, it's merely another confirmation. Hopefully Acronis will change this in the next version. Afterall, why wouldn't folks doing manual backups want to know when the last one was run? I mean, why not have that info right at hand in ATI instead of using paper and pencil ;-)

     
  7. jon1

    jon1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    To Acronis Support: I was only trying to help.
    To Shieber: Thanks for your kind help.

    Conclusion to users:
    I thought it would be a good idea to show the way I have done it, although your solution might be very different from mine. I like to have full control over backups and am in need of saving backup space.

    Two tasks to the same backup location with the same backup name:
    “Automatic Incremental backup partition C” - (scheduled weekly)
    “Manual Full backup partition C” - (scheduled monthly at night and never run automatically)

    Now at a certain point in time you want to refresh the full backup and start it manually.
    Of course if your computer is up at night you cannot schedule it monthly, but will have to schedule it to “Do not start automatically”. The advantage of monthly scheduling is a nice and informative task screen.

    Thanks.
     
  8. jon1

    jon1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Thanks.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jon1,

    If you want us to change the behavior of Acronis True Image in any way or add some new features to this product, please feel free to post any of your suggestions in Acronis True Image WISH-LIST thread.

    Could you please clarify, what do you mean by the following?
    Does the monthly scheduled task fail? Are there any error messages? What do they say?

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  10. jon1

    jon1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    42
    Dear Marat.
    If you read the thread again, you will find the answer to both your questions.
    I have shown you a bug, it is that simple.
    If you wish to add it to the wish-list thread then feel free to do so.
    Scheduling it monthly is because of the bug.
    Thanks.
     
  11. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Pencil? Explain please ... is that the latest Apple gadget? Does it need batteries? :D :D

    It's a slow day at work. :D !
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.