BufferZone free version

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by overangry, Jun 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
  2. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    nice;) thanks for the link:thumb:
    is this a new realese?what does it include?
     
  3. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    Version 3.31
    This version includes a BufferZone Free Version as well as several bug fixes.

    Bug Fixes (partial list)


    Several rare situations which might result in an Operating System instability.
    A situation where automatic emptying of BufferZone was not performed as scheduled.
    A situation where sometimes installations of applications outside of BufferZone were not performed correctly.
    An occasional corruption of email attachments only when using Outlook® connected to an Exchange® server.
    An occasional failure to restore a BufferZone snapshot.

    BufferZone free:

    Safely download anything in an isolated (virtualized) zone
    Safely browse with Internet Explorer in an isolated (virtualized) zone
    Safely chat with MSN Messenger in an isolated (virtualized) zone
    Safely open e-mail attachments in an isolated (virtualized) zone
    e-Bank and e-Shop in a trusted environment(*place up to 2 trusted sites in a Privacy Zone)
    Schedule periodic "flushes" of the Virtual Zone
    Trustware Forum Support
     
  4. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    this looks promising and now how is in cpu?ram?
     
  5. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    So it looks like the free version supports only IE browser and MSN chat client? Any other limitations? What about email clients?
     
  6. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    See here


    bufferzone.jpg
     
  7. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    When installing BZ-free does it require a restart?
     
  8. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Hi Bell,

    Yes it does require re-boot..
     
  9. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    is it running well together with SBIE ?:doubt:
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thet run good together?
     
  11. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Haven't tried with SandboxIE yet. But why do you require two virtualization?
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    AvinashR are you running BZ?
     
  13. abu shofwan

    abu shofwan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    358
    Location:
    Earth
    I'm not requiring 2 virtualization :D just in case, I had SBIE in my main PC and Geswall in other. I was not impressed with GW and thinking to replace it.
     
  14. overangry

    overangry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    309
    30 - 40 MB RAM CPU is great no slow downs on my PC, I am trialling the full version I do believe it requires a restart.
    IMHO this is an excellent piece of software, I will be buying the full version after I complete my trial.
    I haven't found anything negative I could pass on while using it.
    Does what it is meant to, and does it well.
    I was surprised by the amount of programs that still work in BZ even after a reboot.

    I have had no changes made to the real system, even though I have downloaded 10 - 20 zero-day links from MDL over the past 21 days.

    I am running it together with Rollback Rx.
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    @overangry this is cool;) man:) :thumb:
     
  16. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Ahhh, two xml files are not included, so the free version can not be tricked into a full version. They have hardcoded the limitations :'(

    Differences with old freeware version

    1. Allows to select sandboxing scripts of any application

    2. Allows regular/scheduled maintenance of sandbox

    Compared to sandboxie free it only offers IE8 and messenger protection (no choice of other aps). On the plus side it does not have a nag screen and is dead simply to use (no ini file tweaking), and it allows windows updates through ie8. it tags sandboxed files with an icon. So It is an ideal step for people intrested in application virtualisation.

    Regards Kees
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  17. raven211

    raven211 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,567
    Looks like I'll still be using COMODO as my main isolation app. Lookng forward to v4.1 of it.
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I dont know. BufferZone and Hitman Pro or Prevx might be a cool combo. Hmmmmmmm.
     
  19. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Not too hard Kees. Drag and drop. ;)

    Sandboxie is way better for my needs.

    FF.JPG
     
  20. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    hey franklyn good idea:) drag_n_drop:D :thumb:
     
  21. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    I'm interested in this BZ snapshot function.Does it allow the creation of multiple snapshots and are you able to 'move' back and forward with them?
     
  22. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Same with andyman. How's the snapshot function work?

    The firewall looks quite simple too. The full version seems to have a fair few extra features.
     
  23. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Is this needed in my LUA/SRP environment Windows XP PC? o_O

    EDIT: can't wait for an answer, I'll try it out now. :D
     
  24. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    I didn't know it:is more like Sandboxie or GesWall ? Like GesWall it seems....
     
  25. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Ah. I'm keeping this.
    Thanks Bufferzone :thumb:


    by the way... the drag and drop doesnt work on my computer.
    Windows XP Pro SP3 (LUA/SRP)

    I tried to drag n drop Google Chrome in Bufferzone but nothing happened.

    anyway... I'm not needing Chrome anymore.. I prefer to use IE now.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.