Buffalo 250 - NAS Backup failure

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by chandrachaki, Mar 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chandrachaki

    chandrachaki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi - I just installed Acronis True Image 9.0 on Win XP. For some reason it is unable to WRITE to a Buffalo Link Station 250. Am I missing some security setup? The drive is usable for other things.

    Any pointers will be helpful.
     
  2. b_k

    b_k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Posts:
    77
    since the buffalo link station is driven by a linux firmware (which means it will run a version of SAMBA for creating windows shares) you could run into the same problems, that i ran into with my OpenWrt.
    I think TI 9.0 just uses some features, that are not available in older SAMBA versions.

    Do you get Error E00040003?
     
  3. chandrachaki

    chandrachaki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi : Correct. I am getting the E00040003 error - Unable to WRITE on Buffalo.
    I tested with a single file, it seems to work OK. Even restore with single file seems to work OK.

    Problem may be with folders and directories.

    Thanks
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chandrachaki,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    First of all, please download and install the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at the Product Updates section at our web site.

    To get access to updates you should create an account then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    If you already use the latest build then please try to perform the described operation booting from Acronis Bootable Rescue Media created with this latest build.

    If it does not help then please reproduce the issue from under Windows and collect the log file with the error:

    - Start Acronis True Image;
    - Select Tools -> Show log;
    - Choose the log entry which contains errors;
    - Click on the diskette icon, choose the location (folder) and save there;

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  5. chandrachaki

    chandrachaki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi: Thanks for some pointers.

    I think the problem could be that Acronis trying to copy from NTFS for Win XP on to Buffalo that is formated with FAT32.

    Could this be a problem?
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello chandrachaki,

    Actually, I don't think it might be the reason. However, a deeper investigation is required in order to find out the actual reason(s) for the problem you encounter.

    First of all, I would recommend you to do as Kirill has suggested and update to the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    Note that you should create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update.

    If the problem still persists with the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 then please provide us with the following information:

    - Let us know what you mean exactly when saying that Acronis True Image 9.0 "is unable to WRITE to a Buffalo Link Station 250";

    - What do you mean when saying that you "tested with a single file"?

    - Did you try to create a disk\partition image or a file-based backup?

    - When did you receive the error message that you mentioned above?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please also let us know whether the problem appears both when you try to create an image saving it to the Buffalo Link Station 250 using the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 from under Windows and when your computer is booted from Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  7. Shootist

    Shootist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    30
    With any drive formatted FAT32 the biggest file size is 4GB. If your image is larger then that it can not be written to a FAT32 partition. Just why is it formatted FAT32? I run a older desktop as a NAS box using NASLite and have no problems creating images as big as 30GB on it.
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi Shootist,

    TI has no problem imaging to a FAT32 drive and will automatically split a large image into 4GB chunks.

    Regards
     
  9. Shootist

    Shootist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Posts:
    30
    Didn't know TI could do that. Are you sure the rescue CD can make that distinction?

    In any event why would anyone have any drive formatted FAT32 in this day and age. Especial since the NAS is running a version of Linux.
     
  10. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi again Shootist,

    I'm absolutely certain!!

    FAT 32 disks can have a slight speed advantage over NTFS but I guess the main reason someone might wish to use it is for compatibility with DOS, earlier flavours of Windows and/or other Operating Systems.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.