BSOD with BartPE

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by jodo1955, Apr 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jodo1955

    jodo1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I want to use TI 2009 and DD10 as a plug-in under BartPE on a USB Stick. Installing TI alone: no problem; installing DD10 alone: no problem. Installing them together causes a BSOD with next message:
    Stop: 0X00000007E (0X00000005, 0XF727BE8D, 0XF78D6430, 0XF78D612C)
    snman380.sys - Adress F727BE8D base at F7271000 Datestamp 48cfe842

    who knows what's wrong and - more important - knows how to solve the problem ??

    Job
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Which plugins are you using for TI and DD?

    Are TI 2009 and DD 10 installed on the same system or are you just using the plugin files?

    My guess would be that it's a conflict between the snapman and snman380 drivers and how the plugins are handling them.
     
  3. jodo1955

    jodo1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    I use the TI2009 plug-in from Acronis and build the DD10 plugin myself according to the instructions on the Acronis site.

    TI2009 is installed on my system; DD10 not (just use the plugin with the files from my other system
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Are these the instructions you're using?

    Are you using the snman380 section of the instructions along with the INF file that goes with it? I'm pretty sure all current TI 2009 installations use the 380 version. If you're using the other driver file and INF file version, then it's trying to install both drivers and that won't work.
     
  5. jodo1955

    jodo1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Dear MudCrab, you're right, I am using the instructions you linked to with the snman380 section.

    The link at the bottom of you reply made me succeed in creating a bootable USB-stick with TI2009 and DD10 on it and that should be enough so bartpe is no longer a must. But now I have then next problem:

    Booting from my USB-stick (2gB) is possible now, but the stick is too small to put an image on. Therefore I need another external USB HD.

    Connecting the external USB HD before booting causes an error that I cannot boot; connecting the external USB HD after booting from my USB Stick makes that that USB HD is not visible and therefore useless.

    How to boot from my USB stick and create or restore an image on or from my external USB HD or boot directly from my 120 gB external USB HD, so that I can backup and restore the internal HD that's in my computer ??

    Can you help me ??

    Thanks,

    Job
     
  6. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Job:

    There is a link in MudCrab's signature to an article for creating an Acronis Bootable USB Hard Disk (first one in the list). It's exactly what you need.
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can also use Grub4DOS on the USB hard drive. I have a guide for this on my website. I prefer using the ISO method since it's easier and more flexible.
     
  8. jodo1955

    jodo1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Dear Mark & MudCrab,

    your suggestions were of great help: I have my USB-HD Bootable with TI2009 and DD10 on it. Thanks

    Still it irritates me that I cannot get the job done with bartpe: snm380.sys keep conflicting. It should be possible to get TI2009 and DD10 together under bartpe. If you have any suggestion let me know.

    Thanks again

    Job
     
  9. Mr_Jiggs

    Mr_Jiggs Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem with True Image 2009 [TI] and Disk Director Suite 10.0 [DDS] on a BartPE CD. I replaced the snman380.sys in the DDS drivers folder with a copy of the snapapi.dll and snapman.sys from the TI folder. It now boots okay and DDS starts up fine, but I'm a bit leery to use it. Is there any problem running it with this set up (snapman.sys instead of snman380.sys and the snapapi.dll from TI) ?

    Mr. Jiggs
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 and Acronis True Image Home 2009

    The issue with BSOD with 0X00000007E code points us to the lack of drivers for HDD controller. And there's one common recommendation, especially regarding bartPE, which helps in this case: create two different CD's\flash drives.

    One with all programs + Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 and the second with Acronis True Image Home 2009. If the system with Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 still give you BSOD, please try to create one clean BartPE with Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 only.

    Regarding SnapAPI: 380 version of the driver is used for latest builds of Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server, Acronis True Image Echo Workstation , Acronis True Image Home 2009 and Acronis True Image Echo Server for Windows.

    Acronis Disk Director Suite (and Server edition too) uses older versions, such as 337.

    Thus, it's not recommended to replace drivers with 380 version, it will cause a conflict.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.