bsod when installing windows

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by samks09, Dec 28, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    i was getting bsod's since a
    while.i thought its a virus
    problem.so i formatted coz i
    didn't have any important data i
    thought its easiest step and
    might help but nothing did help.i did a clean all with diskpart to
    write zeroes.so the situation
    now is i'm having a blank ata
    drive 465gb.and whenever i try
    to install windows i get a bsod.i
    tried with xp and windows 8 pro.i made some googling and run
    chkdsk .it shows up "error
    detected in uppercase file .run
    chkdsk /f to fix it.but when i
    tried chkdsk it said that it
    cannot run chkdsk coz the volume is write
    protected.though i can run
    chkdsk /f or /r on every volume
    saparately.it doesnt show any
    error.but stil the uppercase file
    is errored and i think it is the cause of bsod.is there any way
    to solve this.or to remove the
    disk's write protect.i already
    tried diskpart for it. diskpart
    shows no flag on
    readonly.please help
     
  2. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Whats the BSOD error code?
     
  3. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    bad_pool_header,kernel_security_check_failure,ntfs_file_system,memory_management ,page error in nonpaged area
     
  4. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
  5. DOSawaits

    DOSawaits Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    Belgium
    Might be a bit hard to run that app since it needs a running Windows OS to start with...
     
  6. Sordid

    Sordid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Posts:
    221
    Try chkdsk with /f, /r, /x etc:

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc730714.aspx

    If major errors at this point> Dead drive.

    Otherwise:

    View the partition via Parted Magic/Hirens BootCD.\

    See if Hiren/PM crash. If so, this indicates a major hardware failure. Make sure everything is seated...cut it down to only boot disks and swap disc connections if possible. Flash BIOS if provided easily.

    If live disc running:

    Re-create NTFS format/partition:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LApK79kc4jE

    Retry install.

    If no go:

    Sounds again like a failing HDD/Controller.

    I'd try another HDD and eliminate that variable after partition problems are sussed--let us know.
     
  7. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
  8. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    which one?
     
  9. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    thats the problem bro.i can't run chkdsk /f or /r on entire disk.and when i run chkdsk it shows error.i can run run chkdsk /f on all volumes c,d,e,f separatly.but it shows no error.i wonder where's that uppercase file is stored which is corrupted?
     
  10. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Is your BIOS set for IDE or ACHI?

    If it is set for ACHI, then you need to inject ACHI drivers before installing Windows XP.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Try taking the HD out and putting it in a docking station on a working PC and format the drive from disc management console.
     
  12. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    how can i check it ?
     
  13. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi Sam,

    You can check it in your BIOS.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  14. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    thanks i'll try this
     
  15. samks09

    samks09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    ok i'll check and tell you
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.