BSOD - NOD32 AV V6 incompatibility with Acronis TI 2013

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by tomha, Jan 31, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomha

    tomha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Because of Action Center notification flickering Problem in NOD32 AV V5 i decided to give V6 a try. I uninstalled V5, rebooted, installed V6 on my WIn 8 Pro X64, activated and restarted the PC.
    When doing a search via the charms bar i got a bsod stating a fault in ntfs.sys. This bsod was reproducable each time i searched via the charms bar in win 8.
    Another reproducable procedure to get this bsod was to insert a sata hdd into my usb 3.0 docking station.

    When uninstalling NOD32 AV V6 i was prompted to restart. On shutdown there was the same bsod.
    After the restart with NOD32 uninstalled, the bsod´s were gone.

    Memory dump analysis showed a fault in tdrpman.sys which is part of Acronis True Image Home 2013.

    I found a similar thread in the Smart Security Forum regarding BSOD´s with ntfs.sys and fault of a PGP software part.
    Maybe there is a Problem with NOD32 V6 and other Software accessing file System Drivers(ntfs.sys)?
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If a kernel or complete memory dump was generated, compress it, upload it to a safe location and PM me the download link.
     
  3. Niels

    Niels Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    466
    Location:
    Belgium
    Are you mounting the images that are stored on your hard disks with Acronis True Image? When I used BitDefender in the past there was also a conflict after the moment that you mount an image with Acronis True Image the system completely freezes.
     
  4. tomha

    tomha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    No, nothing is mounted. TI 2013 only is installed and used to backup 2 partitions on startup.
     
  5. Zardoc

    Zardoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    I have not encountered this issue with my system.
     
  6. Lalle75

    Lalle75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Bochum, Germany
    Hi. I have a BSOD issue, too. But not together with Acronis or another specific software. Since I installed the v6 (3 days ago), I got about 5 or 6 BSOD.

    The error is not reproducable: It occurs while I am surfing with Firefox, or doing file actions. The last time my system crashed after I clicked on the MyComputers icon, directly after starting the system.

    The BSOD shows me the same message every time: ntfs.sys, PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

    I deinstalled the version 6, and my system runs ok since one hour now.

    Regards,
    Lalle
     
  7. tomha

    tomha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Marcos guessed the bsod were caused by one or some symbolic links, not by a special Software like Acronis TI.
    Because i can reproduce the bsod with doing a search with the charms bar and i have only one symbolic link, i could try to delete the symlink and test if the bsod will happen then.
    Unfortunately i am on vacation till the end of this week. I will try on Sunday and post the results here.

    regards, tomha
     
  8. tomha

    tomha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    Now i can confirm that the BSOD´s are related to symbolic links.
    I deleted the symbolic link pointing to my NAS and the BSOD´s were gone.

    Unfortunately there is another issue with V6( I opened another thread according to):
    When opening disk Management (diskmgmt.msc) the Computer gets terrible slow. Even mouse movements are stumbled. Task Manager(started before diskmgmt.msc) shows 50% - 70% cpu usage from system. Shutdown takes 5 - 20 minutes.

    All Problems are gone after uninstalling NOD AV V6.
     
  9. chrizio

    chrizio Guest

    Also problems here: windows xp sp3, eav v6.308, Acronis TI 2009. On EAV just real-time protection, removable media protection, email client protection enabled. All remaining modules disabled. All was fine when real-time protection was disabled temporarily for trial. TI hangs up while starting it up. After few minutes the whole system gets irresponsible. Do you think some drivers of logical devices installed by TI could be the root reason?
     
  10. tomha

    tomha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Posts:
    27
    @chrizio

    I did not have any issues with Acronis TI but i am using TI Home 2013.
    TI is working without any Problems. I only got BSOD´s when searching over the charms bar of win8. Crashdump Analysis pointed to an faulty module which was part of Acronis TI. There is another post in the smart security Forum where a part of PGP failed with the same BSOD.
    This BSOD are related to a Problem with symbolic links and NOD AV V6 or SS V6.
    I can not confirm any malfunctions of TI 2013 when using AV V6.

    regards
    tomha
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.