Browser Speed Comparisons

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by kareldjag, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kareldjag

    kareldjag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    622
    Location:
    PARIS AND ITS SUBURBS
  2. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    thanx for the link Kareldjag.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,895
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    But I use opera and it rules. did good on the test :D


    bigc
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    firefox renders quicker then IE for me, it might have something to do with the tweaks i have done.

    // Enable pipelining
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", :cool:;

    // Turn on timer-based reflow management
    user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);

    // Sets the allowed time between reflows in microseconds
    user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);

    user_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
    user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
    user_pref("content.maxtextrun", 8191);
    user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);

    // Set the number of reflows to do before waiting for the rest of the page to arrive
    user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 5);

    // Turn initial paint delay to
    user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 500);

    // Set Maximum Connections Per Server
    user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 4:cool:;
    user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
    user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy",16);
    user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", :cool:;
     
  5. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    There was no speed tweaking in the test, just the raw products were aligned.
     
  6. kareldjag

    kareldjag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    622
    Location:
    PARIS AND ITS SUBURBS
    Hi,

    Thanks for the feedback Infinity, Spanner, Bigc73542, Iceni60 and Meneer.
    We know that any test is open to criticism.
    But when i have to choose a car, one of my first criterion is security.
    It's the same for the browser (Firefox).

    Opera is a very interactive browser .
    But if anyone use it on Linux, it's better to pach it because of a recent vulnerability ;) :

    http://www.gentoo.org/security/en/glsa/glsa-200502-17.xml

    As often more much too say than time to say it... ;)

    Regards
     
  7. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I tend to find that some speed tests on the internet don't work if your behind a router, especially connection tests working from the outside.

    Jimbob
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.