Browser Speed Comparisons

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by kareldjag, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kareldjag

    kareldjag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    622
    Location:
    PARIS AND ITS SUBURBS
  2. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    thanx for the link Kareldjag.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    But I use opera and it rules. did good on the test :D


    bigc
     
  4. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    firefox renders quicker then IE for me, it might have something to do with the tweaks i have done.

    // Enable pipelining
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", :cool:;

    // Turn on timer-based reflow management
    user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);

    // Sets the allowed time between reflows in microseconds
    user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);

    user_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
    user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
    user_pref("content.maxtextrun", 8191);
    user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);

    // Set the number of reflows to do before waiting for the rest of the page to arrive
    user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 5);

    // Turn initial paint delay to
    user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 500);

    // Set Maximum Connections Per Server
    user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 4:cool:;
    user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
    user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy",16);
    user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", :cool:;
     
  5. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    There was no speed tweaking in the test, just the raw products were aligned.
     
  6. kareldjag

    kareldjag Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    622
    Location:
    PARIS AND ITS SUBURBS
    Hi,

    Thanks for the feedback Infinity, Spanner, Bigc73542, Iceni60 and Meneer.
    We know that any test is open to criticism.
    But when i have to choose a car, one of my first criterion is security.
    It's the same for the browser (Firefox).

    Opera is a very interactive browser .
    But if anyone use it on Linux, it's better to pach it because of a recent vulnerability ;) :

    http://www.gentoo.org/security/en/glsa/glsa-200502-17.xml

    As often more much too say than time to say it... ;)

    Regards
     
  7. Jimbob1989

    Jimbob1989 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Posts:
    2,529
    I tend to find that some speed tests on the internet don't work if your behind a router, especially connection tests working from the outside.

    Jimbob
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.