Browser privacy: Any advice please

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by slammer_JvA, Mar 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slammer_JvA

slammer_JvA Registered Member

Below sea-level. Safe and sound behind our dikes:
    Hi.
    Another case of not knowing where to go
    (or which thread to put this in- so, please move if necessary :))

I'm relatively new to this stuff, and not quite sure where to find the answers I'm looking for- that is:
    How to really adjust my firewall.
    At this moment I'm trying SYGATE personel firewall (freeversion); looked at their website, but can't seem to see to forest for the trees (again.. :oops:)

I just visited PC Flank, and did a QuickTest.
    Because this site is related to Outpost I am a little suspicious about the given advice to buy (their) firewall software. (Do I need to be?)
    Nevertheless: I did the test because of wanting to deal with Browser Privacy problems, I encountered earlier.

The result/advice was as follows:

Danger!
    While visiting web sites your browser reveals private information about you and your computer. It sends information about previous sites you have visited. It may also save special cookies on your hard drive that have the purpose of directing advertising or finding out your habits while web surfing.

Recommendation:
    We advise you to get personal firewall software. If you already have a firewall program adjust it to block the distribution of such information.

Can someone here please give me some pointers or tell me where to look?
    Thanks in advance!

Regards,
    Slammer

2. RedLobster

RedLobster Guest

Not a firewall matter

See

1) Webwasher Classic (good for beginner)

2) Proxomitron (better..with learning curve)

3. RedLobster

RedLobster Guest

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2004
  4. dvk01

dvk01 Global Moderator

They are making a mountain out of a molehill and trying to scare you into buying what you don't need