Browser Bubble

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Moose World, Sep 29, 2021.

  1. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2021
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,484
    Location:
    UK
    It costs $50 for a year.
     
  3. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    :eek: :D
     
  4. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Other than cost...
    And no Family plan.....
    7 day trail.......
    Thoughts.....
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,484
    Location:
    UK
    After reading the documentation parts of it seems overly complicated as there are so many settings, and some bits of it folk may find a bit off putting.

    https://www.cydecsecurity.com/bbdocs.html
     
  6. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    878
    Location:
    usa
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,484
    Location:
    UK
    @zmechys
    Strange as my link is https and yours is http.
     
  8. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Hi,

    Appreicate the feedback on Browser Bubble.......
     
  9. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    This looks interesting it appears to have a built in sandbox ability, I wonder if it will automatically delete browsing history, cookies, all data accrued during a browsing session at browser close like sandboxie?

    I am going to have to test this out.
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,484
    Location:
    UK
    See Options in documentation (under Delete browser sandbox data)
    https://www.cydecsecurity.com/bbdocs.html#options
     
  11. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    991
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    LOL way too expensive and it's not even using virtualization like Sandboxie. Plus it's not clear how it offers extra isolation on top of built-in browser sandboxes. I would also like to know more about the anti-exploit module, is it similar to MBAE and HMPA, or does it simply block process execution like OSArmor? But I don't think it's crap, I believe it does have potential, but I don't see myself using this stuff.
     
  13. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
  14. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    744
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Hi,
    Remember to take the 7 days trail.
    A month would be better, to see how
    it really work, overall......
     
  15. Lyx

    Lyx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    139
    And Antidetect Browser costs from $75 to $324... for a month :D
     
  16. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    I have been testing the trial so far pretty buggy here is what I have noticed this far,

    Edge will not load pages or will load them for a brief second then show a blank page saying their is a problem loading the page,

    Brave will work using the same bubble settings as Edge but will not load any extensions which is really just my password manager but Edge will.

    I think it might have to do with the fingerprint spoofing settings going to have to go through them, perhaps disable them if the browsers loads normally bubbled then re-enable one at a time to find and modify the offending setting.

    The colorizing your bubbles thing is not working right just puts a bar at the top of the taskbar, once they get that fixed it will be a nice feature.

    I really like the idea of the bitlocker containers, I have a TPM 2.0 module on order to make my system Windows 11 compatible for upgrading down the road, I will test this as soon as it gets here.

    It has a built-in secure DNS it works but it is very slow, but it is free with the app, so can't complain to much.

    You can create a shortcut for a bubble browser on your desktop but you have to select a bubble when you launch it, I hope they make a way to have launch to a specific bubble like you can launch a browser sandboxed with Sandboxie.
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK thanks for the test, seems it's not ready for prime time yet.
     
  18. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    Part of it is not bugs though it is that it is not as simple as they make it appear, I was able to get Edge working, it was the fingerprint spoofing, it does not like spoofing Performance timers and will not bring up pages if you enable Windows version spoofing so there is a lot of fine tuning involved.

    I still have not figured out why it won't run Brave with extensions, it is almost as if it captures your browsers settings when you initially install the bubble software and will not reflect any changes outside the bubble after the fact.

    I am going to keep testing and tweaking to see how much I can get ironed out and still want to test bitlocker containers my TPM module should be here by the weekend.

    The fact that it works outside the browser so browser developers can't mess with its functionality like they can with extensions gives it some extraordinary potential in the spy on, track and censorship world we find our selves in today.
     
  19. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,629
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, but how come that it does work on Edge, or did I misunderstood? But to be honest, I think this tool is overkill for me.
     
  20. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    I actually does not work right with either, for some reason it launches older versions or grabbing older profiles instead of the last state of the browsers, so anything added outside the bubbles like updates, bookmarks, extensions are not showing up when bubbled, I have summitted a bug ticket about it and will see what happens.

    As far as overkill yes this can do a lot, you can create a lot of configurations with a lot of different spoofing including specific ones with DNS filtering, VPN, or proxy, you can pre-launch apps prior to the browser opening or after like if you wanted to run a quick malware scan after it shuts down each time it shuts down.

    I just want to get it working with a couple good encrypted sandbox bubbles that will automatically delete any accrued data in that browsing session and only use non-bubbled browsers for updating, adding bookmarks or an extension to keep them as clean as possible.
     
  21. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    FYI conversing with the Devs via the bug report system they have acknowledged a number of bugs and will be releasing a new version soon.
     
  22. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    are you a beta tester?
     
  23. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    No, just testing the trial version on my own and submitting bugs I found.
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,160
    i see.
     
  25. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    344
    FYI a new version has been released, but have not been able to test it yet as my trial period ran out, I might go ahead and buy it for a year just so I can test it some more, never got to test the bit locker bubble because my TPM 2.0 mother board module has not arrived yet.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.