Broken Shadow

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rico, Sep 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,701
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    Any ideas, I missed a schedule, & when I opened SP, it said my license was disconnected. Clicking Backup brings up (see picture) About the only option I have is Explore Backup. Anyway nothing works in the program can't even enter or check license info.

    Thanks
    Rico
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,701
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi

    I tried 'Repair' & got error connecting to server message, with no improvement from post #1.

    Tried one more time 'Repair' same server error message. Tried SP and now functional, with 'Active' license. Wierd!

    Now SP does not recognize or the backup wizard does not contain the previous instructions. Within SP I can see the previous backup jobs on my ext HD. Is there a way to continue with my previous backups, or should I format G: & start anew?

    Previously the backup wizard was Full backups 'monthly' on the 1st. & increments only on Sunday 5:15pm. If i set this up now/again, are the previous backups on G: still valid & useableo_O?


    Thanks & Take Care
    Rico
     
  3. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Rico,

    I would just give SP the BU instructions again and see if it takes. Bump up the sched time so you can see if it does work. You can always cancel / abort and re-instruct the start time.

    ...screamer
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Rico

    Once you have it all working again, I would just verify those images. If they are okay, I'd think your fine. Really weird.

    Pete
     
  5. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,701
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    While SP was mostly broken, the 'explore backups' was available. I played with that & at some point I made or said ok to drive "H" which was read only. I never intended to create a new drive, just seeing if I could have some functionality with SP. Ok! Now everything is working again, license says "active", no red SP shield in the tray. At my computer XP machine, I saw drive H it had x amount of space & x amount of data. From properties I chose dis-mount H, & I now do not see H. Is the data that H contained & the space that H occupied now gone, after the dis-mount. Or do I need to (somehow) mount H format H then dismount it? Geez I thought you only dis-mounted from a horse.

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Rico

    I missed something. Is Drive H, a real disk or an image mounted as a disk?

    Pete
     
  7. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,701
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Peter,

    Thanks! "H" never existed until, I fooled around with SP's "Explore Disk" one of the windows said something about H & I ticked the box, I believe at this point I mounted an image & made it read-only. Upon finding H in "My Computer" i dis-mounted. I guess the question becomes is there an image that used to belong to H taking up unwanted space?

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  8. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Go into SP, and try dismount image. If its there you can dismount it. Also if it shows up in windows explorer you can delete the files. If its not in either place it should be gone.

    Pete
     
  9. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Rico,

    It sounds as though you created a virtual drive (H) to explore / view an existing image. When you dis-mounted it, you in effect canceled / deleted the "virtual" drive. You should still have the original image on your box in case you need to restore.

    ...screamer
     
  10. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,701
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi.

    ThanksGuys!!!!!!!

    Take Care
    Rico
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.