Broken Installers

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dsearles, Jul 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dsearles

    dsearles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Both the 3666 and 3677 builds have broken installers which lose the serial number during the "upgrade" process...

    It is INCREDIBLY frustrating to myself (as well as others in this forum) when you folks screw up an Installer as it takes THREE reboot cycles (one to discover the install failed, another to uninstall and a third to re-install) to get the product properly installed AND then we are forced to recreate all scheduled jobs (since you "lose" the scheduling info but keep the "job" entries). Then, after all that horsing around we then discover that you didn't even fix the bug!

    Don't you people even TEST your new builds? If you did, you would discover immediately that the installer didn't work. I've been a professional software developer for over 25 years; I would have been fired long ago for the sort of sloppiness we see on a fairly regular basis from Acronis.

    Another help would be to DOCUMENT exactly what is changing in each build; not simply say "Better hardware support and GUI fixes" which is what you list for the last 20+ builds! If you tell us the truth, we would notice that a given fix was NOT in a given build and we could skip it waiting for the next one.

    As a professional, I understand that bugs happen and are a part of the software industry but the goal is to REDUCE the bugs; not simply chase them from "room to room".
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dsearles,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Could you please clarify what exact error message you have received?

    Please note that we recommend you to uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing the latest one.

    We have already forwarded such request to the appropriate person and this enhancement will be probably implemented in future. I'm sorry, but the exact time-frame for that is not decided yet.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  3. dsearles

    dsearles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    The installs APPEAR to work correctly except they do not reboot the PC after completion. Then whether you reboot or not, when you try to start TrueImage it reports "Unable to find serial number. Please reinstall" (or something to that effect).

    You CANNOT say the recommended "upgrade" path is to uninstall first. If that is so, WHY do you even offer an "upgrade" option in your installer.

    The point is that your installers USUALLY work properly on upgrades. Other than the most recent two builds (3666 and 3677), there have been only two or three builds over the past 2 years which had the same installer problem.

    My point in raising this issue is that it becomes OBVIOUS that you folks are NOT testing your builds; a totally unacceptable situation for a commercial software product!
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    OT posts removed that were not even close to the thread topic matter at hand....Broken Installers

    Edit
    Further OT posts removed and any future OT posts will be removed without further comment.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2006
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dsearles,

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that if you install one build on top of the previous build (within the same verion of the program) it is possible the installation will be competed without reboot of the computer. This depends on the verion of the Acronis Drivers (see post #10 and #11 in this thread about Acronis Drivers) which are included in to each build of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. This drivers may be updated from build to build. Therefore, if old build contains old version of the Acronis Drivers and the new build contains new version of the Acronis Drivers reboot is required. If the version of Acronis Drivers is the same in two builds then the installation proceed without reboot.

    As to the issue with "Unable to find serial number. Please reinstall" (or something to that effect), Acronis True Image was unable to add the serial number to the registry record. Possible this issue is caused by third-party software or your system settings and this issue is preventing Acronis True Image 9.0 from starting. The solution to this issue described here.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.