Brand New Here with a few questions

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by robinb, Jun 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    I downloaded the newest version of Ewido (trial for 30 days) and I have a few questions please.

    If you decide not to purchase the full version, what are you left with once the trial is up?

    Can you still get signature updates even though it is now "free" and where do you get them? Is there a website or can you still hit the manual update and get the updates?

    Do you still have the resident shield loading on startup or does that go away altogether?

    Also on the Shield tab- for the Files and Memory box does that mean when the resident shield first loads in windows on startup it checks
    files and memory? or does it do it when it is scanning only.

    I want to test this out first before I recommend it to my clients and of course use it for my own needs.

    thanks
    Robin
     
  2. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    no one can answer my questions please?
    robin
     
  3. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Hi robinb,

    Have a look at shields in ewido 4.0.

    The shield loads at startup, same as the auto-update. :)
     
  4. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Quite a lot actually, see here:-
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=778557&postcount=42
    You get sigs by manually clicking the update button on the GUI; but, if it was ever necessary, you can also get them from here:-

    http://www.ewido.net/en/download/updates/
    You lose that after the trial.
    As I understand it, the Guard would be scanning all executable files as you attempt to open them and scans memory of all starting applications. I think you would need to do a manual scan to check all memory.
    Very wise. ;)
     
  5. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    I thank both of you :)

    robinn
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.