bought a new computer today

Discussion in 'hardware' started by bigc73542, Apr 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    now to try and figure which antivirus to run on ito_O decisions,decisionso_O

    AMD Phenom X4 9600 Quad-Core Processor HD9600WCGD, Socket AM2+, 2.3GHz, 4MB Cache, 95W, 65nm
    3Gb.DDR2 memory
    Nivida GeForce 9600 graphics
    and enough fans to cool off a motorhome but it is fairly quiet.
     
  2. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Congrats on your new purchase :thumb:. It sounds like a great machine with a lot of power.

    I just ordered an Intel Q6600 today and am preparing for my first build. I've had great help :).

    You shouldn't be worrying about an AV, you should be concentrating on all the newest games and software out there :p. I take it your running Vista 32bit since it has 3GB of RAM? What AV was you running before?
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Windows Live onecare 2.5. I have a full year of it left. Yep Vista Home Premium 32
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2008
  4. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    You've been pimping McAfee for quite some time.....why change if it works so well? ;)
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It does work well, but I kind of like the new WLOC also. It is very quiet and out of my face.
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    With a new computer, you could try NOD32 and see if it works.

    BTW if youre asking about AV, why post in Software & Services?
     
  7. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Great set up-be interested how the Phenom performs-good luck!!

    Dont know if you intend to get payware.

    I have been running AVG Free for several years without any virus occurring,or any problems.

    I especially like the fact that it runs so light,completely unobtrusive and fast.

    The GUI is very logical.Updates itself.

    It also always rates quite highly in the tests.
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,

    Congrats on the purchase, looks like a nice thingie.
    Fans are good - fans are your friend ...

    As to the AV thingie, I'd say AVG free, if they cater for Vista.

    Mrk
     
  9. Ragzarok

    Ragzarok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    Phenom... budget machine? Return it... wait for Nehalem.
    :doubt: What will you do with it? Server? Media edit?


    I've also been looking for something cheap to build my Media Center PC / server. Was close to buying Phenom, but decided to wait till Nehalem. N/e ways...hope you happy with it, let us know how it performs.
     
  10. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Hi,

    Give a try to Avira AntiVir Premium 8. I am extreemly happy with it. Even LooknStop has added additional security without effecting speed and memory too. :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

    I have installed these application on my business machine.
     
  11. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Fans are evil :D
    Passive cooling is much quiter :D :D
    LN2 is coldest :D :D :D

    I have used all of those and some more. Have to say that you don't need so much power if you don't game.

    bigc73542 why you choose AMD over Intel Core Duo? Intel is much faster and so easy to overclock.
     
  12. markymoo

    markymoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    1,212
    Location:
    England
    I hope it works out and enjoy your new computer! A unlocked processor :) for a lesser price. Personally I wouldn't recommend AMD at the moment because of the serious TLB bug in there chips which the fix they released reduces alot performance. Intel Quad 6600 is 15% more performance and a great price right now. You can't beat the stability of Intel chips.

    AV NOD32 would be a good choice as it will give great protection without a performance hit.

    Here's a review of the AMD Phenom 9600 BE
    http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Reviews/phenom_9600_black_edition/

     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2008
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    hey bigc, i see we are both in the market for new machines.

    mine should arrive on tuesday, but i wont be changing my AV. :)

    hope it comes on tuesday anyway..... o_O
     
  14. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    Congrats on your purchase! I wouldn't really worry about how heavy an AV is, besides, what would stand in the way of a 3GB Ram and a Phenom 9600?
    [GLOW="Mcafee"][/GLOW] will release a new engine sooner or later, so I'm sticking with them. You can also get a free liscence all to easily too. :D
    If you wanna try something else, try out lots of trials, since each machine is individual and you should find something that fits.
     
  15. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Congratulations bigc on the purchase of your new computer nice specs indeed.

    If your happy with WLOC I say continue to use it, or if your like me constantly changing your mind trial trial trial .....

    Wake
     
  16. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Congratulations on a new computer, they're very exciting and you have infinite choices almost to secure them with now days.

    All The Best

    EASTER
     
  17. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have decided to stay with WLOC for now. It works almost invisibly on the new machine. :thumb: Thanks to all of you for the advice and thoughts.

    bigc.
     
  18. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Welcome to the world of Quad computing, bigc :)
     
  19. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have come to the conclusion that after one day of use on the new comp that IT KICKS A## I love it :D
     
  20. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    A lot faster than a single core:thumb: :thumb:
     
  21. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    Oh, maybe just a little :argh: Zoooooooooooom
     
  22. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Well I decided on Kaspersky internet security. And while I was in town buying it I got a new 350 watt 5.1 surround for the new comp :thumb: really loving it. I think I am going to stay in the computer room and play for about a month.:D

    Totally amazed how cool it runs
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 21, 2008
  23. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Those temps are amazing-are you sure its not outside in the snow? :)
     
  24. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    I guess it runs cool because it doesn't have to work very hard :thumb:
     
  25. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Which program you use to show temps? Most of them doesn't show correct values.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.