Both Drive Snaphot & Macrium Reflect are being recalcitrant

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by AaLF, Jan 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm trying to copy my Win 7 onto another HDD. Both Macrium & Snapshot are not delivering.

    Macrium Reflect: When trying to boot newly imaged HDD Macrium responds "NTLDR is missing".

    Snapshot: Advises on completion of copying image "SNAPSHoT error #49 - there was no bootable primary partition detected. This disk cannot be made bootable"
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    AaLF,

    Can you post a screenshot of Disk Management? Or a link to the shot?
     
  3. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Photo of Drive management attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks. The E: drive is a Logical Partition rather than a Primary partition. It won't boot.

    Delete the logical partition from Disk 1. Restore the image again without making that mistake. Remove the old HD before the first boot from the new HD.
     
  5. Jim1cor13

    Jim1cor13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Posts:
    453
    Location:
    US
    Good catch Brian :) I noticed the logical notation also. So he would have to delete partition, and before restore, make sure restored partition is Primary and active? Maybe this was missed in Macrium as they do offer choosing either Primary or logical, or is it that the creation of Disk 1 E: was already created as logical, and cloning into it accepted the data, but it was not bootable to start neither could it be made bootable due to logical creation.

    Thank you for all your help, we all learn from reading these experiences. :)

    Jim
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    BIBM should be able to boot an OS in that that logical partition but that's not AaLF's original intention.

    In general, copy/restore into unallocated space although not all apps can do this. If a target partition already exists, remove its drive letter before creating the OS image or copying the OS. On first boot from the new OS, don't let it see the old OS. Always remove the old HD prior to the first boot from the new HD. Failing to do the above can lead to the "not genuine" message with Win7 or freezing near the Welcome screen with WinXP.
     
  7. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Oh-oh. Re-formatted as primary partition (blue border in disk mngmnt). Took a new image with Macriumfree & verified it, restored it to H drive (new primary partition on Drive 2) and same disaster - NTLDR is missing.

    edit: formatting etc was done in disk management. Macrium copied the image into a partition 'set up' beforehand. Should I leave it unallocated and will Macrium sort it out prior to imaging?

    edit 2:
    I copied the image into the H drive. I will do it again into a non-lettered drive & report back.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Yes, delete the partition first. You must not let the target partition drive letter be seen prior to creating the image.

    Then create an image of C: drive.
    Remove the old HD from the computer.
    Move the new HD SATA data cable to the motherboard port the old HD had been using.
    Boot from the recovery CD and restore the image to unallocated space on the new HD. Make sure you Set Active and Copy/Restore MBR.
    Boot the new HD.
     
  9. MarcP

    MarcP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    What is your drive F:? It's says it is the active primary partition.
     
  10. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    There are another ways to make active partition to inactive
    1. Disable active HDD in BIOS/UEFI
    2. Using partition tool to make active partition to inactive(of course you can make it active again)

    Not two steps, should be two ways, either one is OK
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Andy,

    I'm not trying to do that.
     
  12. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    • I have disabled drive letter.
    • I have taken image of CDrive.
    • Downloaded & burnt CD "WinPE for Macrium"
    • After loading CD it says drivers missing:
    1. video controller
    2. SMBus
    3. PCI host

    I have a gygabyte GA-EP35-DS3P board. Nothing appears out of place in the original cDrive. I dont know how to find the reqd drivers. The Gigbyte site is a bit confusing.
    Its just a big data storage HDD.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Those drivers aren't important for what is planned. Does the CD load into the recovery environment?

    Are you following the latest instructions? There is no instruction to do this,
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
  14. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    I think the ways I say are easier.:D :p
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I should have said I'm not trying to make an inactive partition.
     
  16. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    At long long last.......... it worked. :thumb: Thanks Brian.
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,637
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Excellent.

    Maybe the heatwave in Sydney helped too!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.