Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,011
    Location:
    Canada
    Seems to be working for me.
     
  2. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,011
    Location:
    Canada
    Correction, just did a Defender update, after update search is borked, so if you want to avoid this don't update Defender until they fix this.
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,380
    Location:
    U.S.A.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,163
    Location:
    USA
    I still think they're slipping in another update they aren't disclosing. We are not using Defender on multiple PCs with this issue.
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,801
    Location:
    UK
    Thought I'd use Reliability History to see if any 'other' updates had been listed.
    Makes you realise how tricky it is to open something like that when you cannot search:)
    Had to first open Control Panel etc etc etc.
    No updates slipped in today (that it listed anyway)
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    131,733
    Location:
    Texas
  7. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,471
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hah, I was hanging around reading about this issue and suddenly, the explanation from ronjor. :) But, the Search box still isn't functioning, not for me. Has it spontaneously come back for anyone else?
     
  8. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    10,092
    You may also need to add: AllowSearchToUseLocation and set DWORD to 0.
    BTW, this is my default setting, so not affected by this nonsense.
    Mrk
     
  9. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    2,052
    Location:
    Canada
    Working well here too:)
     
  10. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,163
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the info.

    I actually fixed the 2004 build by running the troubleshooter which did nothing on the 1909 machines. In any case they are reporting this all as being fixed but requiring a reboot.
     
  11. RangerDanger

    RangerDanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Boston
    Its working again.
     
  12. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,471
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Oh, that's good! I knuckled under and applied the registry fix described above but it was necessary to use the Run box to get to the registry instead of Search. Now it's working here too after a restart. If you want something done, blah blah.

    At least we know it's not some mystery thingamajig we have to wait for days to get a fix.
     
  13. RangerDanger

    RangerDanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Boston
    So it was a Defender Update? Would love to know how this happens.
     
  14. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    10,092
    It's not the Defender because I have it disabled on me boxen. This is simply Cortana-search incompatibility. Something that shouldn't have existed in the first place.
    Mrk
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2020
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,562
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Search is working here but I disabled Cortana with a registry tweak just after installing Windows. I DO use Windows Defender on this machine.
     
  16. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,063
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I don't usually Search from the taskbar, or search online at all using Window search. But tried both functions about 2 hours ago, and all worked well.

    Bo
     
  17. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,471
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hmmm, running Defender on here. I'd like to know what triggered this, too. Cortana was already disabled in the registry (value=0) but I had to add the new entry disabling Bing. That and only that plus a restart brought back the Search function in its entirety. Couldn't find evidence of a "stealth update" either. :cautious:
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7,017
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/release-information/windows-message-center#387
     
  19. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,163
    Location:
    USA
    Good they fixed the start menu search. That said, it should have never happened in the first place. If it happens again I'll probably be vising a site the provides a start menu replacement. I don't need my start menu to search the internet. If I wish for it to it could be an option, but making this a difficult to change (for the average user) default is not right.
     
  20. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,380
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  21. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    10,092
    That explanation is nonsense on many, many levels.
    Mrk
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,163
    Location:
    USA
    I agree with Woody on this one. Think about how they can remotely enable/disable features on the insider builds. I have had installations where things were different despite having the same patches and build numbers. They are making changes to things without notice or any kind of visible trail. This time they broke something and don't want to admit it.
     
  23. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    77,380
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Agree 100%, and posting Woody's views is just FYI open for debate.
     
  24. RangerDanger

    RangerDanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Boston
    Would blocking telemetry prevent this?
     
  25. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    10,092
    No, I noticed this in a brand-new installed system - local account, telemetry disabled - and you need(ed) the reg keys to fix this.
    Mrk
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.