Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,428
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I am noticing a pronounced black screen prior to desktop initialization after the latest 1909 cum. update. Unlike previously where this occurred after update and improved w/each subsequent reboot, the reverse is happening. Each subsequent system startup is taking longer to initialize the desktop.
     
  2. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,467
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Is it to where you'd consider uninstalling this update and then blocking it? It does seem to trigger somewhat more complaints than the one just previous to this. There's a (now) three-page long thread on it in the Microsoft forums.
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,467
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Also, I think I'm a little late with this realization that apparently, you can't clean Windows Update files from the deprecated Disk Cleanup app any more, it's only available via Settings/Storage, it seems. I got back 3.9 GB of disk space that otherwise would have sat there. :)
     
  4. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,592
    not true. you can do it. you need to run dc as administrator via context menu or under an administrator acc.
     
  5. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    3,579
    Location:
    Canada
    I was experiencing the same thing, just without the black screen you mention. It turns out after checking my SRP advanced logs, the policy was blocking several MS files in mostly Temp folders. Some of the new updates were obviously creating files not yet included in SRP's Unrestricted Path rules. After creating Path rules for them and rebooting, things are much better now. My policy is based on very restrictive Path rules, so this affords stronger security at the cost unencumbered usability.

    BTW, I hardly ever use Windows any more. Only on rare occasion to patch the O/S and update other programs.
     
  6. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,428
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    No SRP applied here. Culprit might be Eset startup scanning activities.
     
  7. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,467
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yep, I do this routinely--as administrator. I didn't see the update cleanup the last time I updated. Maybe I missed it, it's not at the top of the list any more. Anyway, it would be nice if it was one or the other, not both. Build is 18363.628.
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    6,062
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Perhaps you are not familiar with this as you think you are.

    Even when you run your computer as an Administrator (as I do, Local Administrator account), for the option to clean up Windows updates to show up in Disk cleanup, you have to run Disk cleanup as Administrator via context menu.

    FWIW. I always cleanup Via Settings, it does a great job. In W10, I used DC only the first couple of times I cleaned Windows updates, after that, I started doing it in Settings. You can also cleanup the Windows.old folder via settings. Cleaning up via Settings does a very smooth job.

    Bo
     
  9. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,592
    yeah, i got the same build and it was there last time i ran it (couple of days ago).
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2020
  10. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,592
    no, elam. i am.:cool:
     
  11. RangerDanger

    RangerDanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Boston
    Windows search is no longer working today.I have the optional update installed that was supposed to fix it on 1909.It could have been borked by a Windows Defender Update.It worked fine until today.
     
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,153
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know that it's a bork Tuesday issue or not but the start menu search is not working on any PC in the office this morning. I'm sure they have broken something. :mad:
     
  13. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,153
    Location:
    USA
    Probably not a Defender issue. I am running 3rd party AV on 1 PC and it is also on the Slow Ring of the Insider program. This is likely a server side issue.
     
  14. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    1,467
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Confirmed! You can type in the box, hit Enter and nothing happens. The whole field is entirely blank.
     
  15. RangerDanger

    RangerDanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Boston
    Yes blank.Go to bed,wake up,and borked! Looks like where waiting it out.
     
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,428
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    No problems here either today or previously regardless of latest optional update.

    I have always had cloud search disabled. I don't use Windows Defender; disabled via third party AV install.
     
  17. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,787
    Location:
    UK
    Confirmed here too. Don't use Defender on this machine.
     
  18. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,787
    Location:
    UK
  19. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,809
    Search is down for Windows 10 users
    February 5, 2020
    https://betanews.com/2020/02/05/search-down-windows-10/
     
  20. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,428
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Running a manual defrag solved this. The strange part is a scheduled defrag ran on 1/31 and did not fix it.
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    7,153
    Location:
    USA
    If you want to disable Bing from the search menu it will fix it. Paste into reg file and import.

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Search]
    "CortanaConsent"=dword:00000000
    "BingSearchEnabled"=dword:00000000

    --Ok, it worked on the 1909 builds. Still not working on the 2004 version.
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,787
    Location:
    UK
    I shall just wait until Microsoft fix it.
     
  23. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,787
    Location:
    UK
  24. RangerDanger

    RangerDanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Boston
    Let MS fix it because I'm sick of fixing their screw ups.
     
  25. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,409
    Search is working fine here.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.