Bork Tuesday, Any Problems Yet?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Nov 12, 2014.

  1. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,109
  2. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,399
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I just completed creating a bootable 1809 USB drive using Rufus portable ver. 3.4.1430 that I downloaded last month.

    The only thing I changed was to select the .iso file I previously downloaded to perform the 1809 in-place upgrade. All other Rufus options were the shown defaults. Rufus detected MBR and BIOS and set format of USB drive to NTFS. Aside from being slow, it took over 16 mins. to create the bootable image on a USB 2.0 drive, nothing else eventful occurred.

    I immediately then restarted and selected the USB drive to boot from. Win 10 1809 install screen/repair started up w/o issue. So as best as I can determine, there are no issues with creating bootable Win 10 USB media with the later vers. of Rufus.

    -EDIT- I would also recommend doing a full format of the USB device on the local device prior using it in Rufus. The drive I used above had been previously formatted to NTFS. Also of note is Rufus only did a quick format of it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2019
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,071
    You can get Rufus to do a full format, by unchecking Quck format, in Format Options.

    Rufus.png

    However I can't think of a situation where a quck format wouldn't suffice.
     
  4. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Europe
    Except, you know, when there are bad sectors or you want to make the data unrecoverable by replacing it with zeroes and rebuilding the file structure
     
  5. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,071
    Well none of my flash drives have bad sectors and making data uncrecoverable is not something I care about, so I'm sticking with quick format.
     
  6. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,399
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    It was "grayed out" and none of those settings accessible when I ran it. I assume this was because the drive had already been fully formatted to NTFS.

    As a rule, I always do a full format on new USB drives since most come with crap software installed and God knows what else.
     
  7. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,417
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    On 3 different W10 laptops during today, different configurations:
    KB4023057 fails to install 0x80070643 via Windows Update (auto).

    Any others experiencing this issue? And is there a solution / workaround?

    On my W10 Pro laptop, this KB had previously installed successfully on 19 Nov and 9 Dec 2018.

    sfc /scannow show no issues.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
  8. Bill K

    Bill K Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Posts:
    63
    Location:
    Naperville IL
    Check this out, seems to have worked for several users and I hope it helps you!
    https://www.windowslatest.com/2019/01/17/windows-10-kb4023057-installation-issues/
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,417
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks Bill, may give that a bash tomorrow ... else just leave it, considering the below? o_O:rolleyes::isay:

    For some odd reasons, the system is trying to install an older version of the update. The users are experiencing the aforementioned error due to the fact that package is already installed on their machines.
     
  10. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Europe
    KB4023057 is the rempl ****, don't install that (unless you failed 1809 upgrade and you're trying to troubleshoot)
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,005
    I restored my 1803 image yesterday and got this error when it tried to update. Went back to linux for now... Will try again in a week or two and see what happens.
     
  12. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,399
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    If you follow "Ask Woody" postings, he noted Microsoft is again aggressively push the 1809 update. This is why many are seeing KB4023057 again.

    Also I believe blocking it will have no effect on 1809 being pushed on you based on my prior experience.
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,417
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yes, I should have mentioned I am still on 1803 on all those machines. I did initially have a problem with 1809 so I restored to 1803 and have not 'checked for updates' since.

    I am amazed (well, not really) that MS seems to be getting this wrong again i.e. pushing an older version of KB4023057 to those who already have it.

    Edit: Pleased to report that all 3 machines updated successfully this morning after a retry, along with KB4100347 which seems to be an Intel microcode update.

    Can enjoy my morning coffee now, and probably look forward to push of 1809 :rolleyes: (except on my Pro machine, which is set to 'Semi-Annual Channel' - not targeted). I do normally always update versions asap ... I just had issues with 1809 which also messed with my ability to restore images, so I have been holding off on this one ...
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
  14. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,109
    Wanted to try upgrading that Dell laptop again, but now it got 1809 as a “cumulative update” which of course also stalled at 100% (and a spinner spinning “forever”) before I could even work on it.

    Kept it in that state for more than 12 hours but nothing changed. Turned it off and on again, hoping it would return to 1803 as in all my manual attempts, but it’s now just stuck on a spinner again...
     
  15. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,109
    That does not boot past the blue Windows logo either (same as USB flash drive).

    I have re-tested the USB installer in a VM on my Mac and it install Windows just fine.

    Would it be possible to configure a VM machine that is somewhat equal to the Dell, install Windows, image the virtual drive, restore that to a real drive, put that in the Dell and then boot have a chance of working? Or would the VM always be too different from the real hardware for Windows to boot?
     
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,399
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Wow, I believe you might be getting close to the record for failed Win 10 upgrade attempts.

    I don't know about the VM bit. What you can try is what Microsoft calls is a "minimum configuration" boot. This where you disable everything but the keyboard and mouse. Then try to perform the in-place upgrade from 1803 to 1809. The equal to msconfig.msc in Win 10 is "System Configuration."

    -EDIT- Guess MS now calls the above a "clean boot" https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/929135

    It really is starting to look like one of your existing drivers that load at boot time is conflicting with the 1809 upgrade proceeding. Or more likely, the issue is a critical boot driver 1809 uses just is not compatible with your existing hardware.

    -EDIT- Here's Microsoft's official Win 10 upgrade failure publication: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/10587/windows-10-get-help-with-upgrade-installation-errors . Did you try disabling any security software you are running prior to the upgrade attempt? I would say this might be required when running many of the non-major AV vendor solutions Wilders folks like to use.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2019
  17. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,440
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Windows System Guard Launch Causing Blank Boot Screens in UEFI PCs
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...aunch-causing-blank-boot-screens-in-uefi-pcs/
     
  18. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Cumulative Update KB4476976 and .NET FRAMEWORK 3.5 and 4.7.2 KB4481031 for Win 10 (64 bit) version 1809, fast and flawless as usual...
    OS Build now: 17763.292
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2019
  19. nine9s

    nine9s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    USA
    Any problems updating? I am getting the error, "We couldn't connect to the update service. We'll try again later, or you can check now. If it still doesn't work, make sure you're connected to the Internet", when I try a manual update. I tried a manual update before doing a system image. My internet works and the Microsoft update troubleshooter program found no problems.
     
  20. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,318
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    How long have you been trying?
    16 hours ago, there was a Windows Update error on one of my Windows 7 systems, it cleared up 20 or 30 minutes later.
    5 hours ago, on my main Windows 7 system, Windows Update worked fine.
     
  21. nine9s

    nine9s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    USA
    About an hour this morning. I usually do not do manual checks but wanted to make a new image and tried before doing so.

    I have version 1809 and have had 1809 about a month. Its last update, a regular routine one, was last week from the automatic ones.
     
  22. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,705
    Location:
    UK
    I have the same error on one of my machines.
     
  23. nine9s

    nine9s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Posts:
    309
    Location:
    USA
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,705
    Location:
    UK
    There are 2 other machines in the house and they don't get the error.:thumbd:
     
  25. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,705
    Location:
    UK
    Odd.
    The 2 machines that don't get the error have 3rd party AV's on them.
    The one that gets the error has Win Defender as AV.

    If I go into the Security Center and look at Virus and Threat protection and scroll down to updates, it says I have 1.285.492.0 and it was updated an hour ago. But if I press 'check for updates' there, it says it failed
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.