Bootwiz.cfg File

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Modred, Jun 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Modred

    Modred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    53
    I have a Dell Dimension 4600 with a 120-GB Seagate SATA hard drive. This computer would never boot to the standard TrueImage restore disk. Technical support told me to change the last line of the bootwiz.cfg file as follows:

    KERNEL y:\kernel.dat quiet acpi=off noapic

    This corrected the problem, and all has been well until the last few versions of TI. Now, I have to type in "quiet acpi=off noapic" when prompted for the Linux Kernel Command Line. Otherwise, the computer locks up.

    I seldom boot to the restore disk, so typing in these few words is not a problem, But, I just wondered if there is a way to get rid of the command line and go back to the old way.

    Thanks
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Modred --

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us and for your purchase!

    There is a workaround - you just need to contact either me personally, or Acronis Support and me/they will provide you with a link for an .iso file that will allow you to burn the CD with these attributed included.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Anton Gromov

    Acronis, Inc.
    395 Oyster Point Blvd. Suite 213
    South San Francisco
    CA 94080 USA
    http://www.acronis.com/

    Acronis... Compute with confidence
     
  3. Modred

    Modred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    53
    Anton,

    Thanks for the reply. Technical support did send me an ISO image, which I burnt to a CD. It works fine. I like to use a compact flash card as a restore disk and would prefer not to have to type in the "acpi=off noapic" every time I do a restore. BUT, I do not do many restores, so this is a VERY MINOR item which I probably should not have raised.

    Thanks again for the response.

    Modred
     
  4. Storm

    Storm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Posts:
    46
    Hi Modred!

    To circumvent the pagefile problem, I have set up an extra partition just for it...

    To further save space I clean out all temp files (IE/Firefox/JavaCache/Windows)
    before making a backup.

    Hope this helps

    Storm
     
  5. Modred

    Modred Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    53

    Storm,

    I think your posting was meant for a different thread. But, I do agree with you. I place my pagefile as well as the Internet Explorer temporary files on the second, non-system partition of my hard drive. This works well in many respects.

    Modred
     
  6. robdoujr

    robdoujr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Where can I get .iso file that will allow you to burn the CD with these bootwiz.cfg attributed included.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello robdoujr,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    I sent the PM to you. If you have further questions concerning Acronis True Image please feel free to ask them either on this forum or via e-mail support@acronis.com.

    Thank you.
    --
    Irina Shirokova
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.