Bootmanager does not work anymore after changing partition size

Discussion in 'Other Paragon Disk Utilities' started by unifaun, May 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unifaun

    unifaun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    I have a serious problem.

    I copied my old 120 gb HD to a new one (500 gb) by "copy assistant with a click". After operation all worked well.

    1st primary partition: office (30 GB)
    2nd primary partition: music (90 GB) , differed by Paragon boot manager.

    The inactive partition is hidden.

    Then I changed the size of the two partitions. 1st -> 150 GB, 2nd -> 350

    Now I only can boot office but not music anymore.

    Have I done something wrong while changing partition size?

    What else can I do?

    Please help!
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2011
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    I have no idea what you mean by the inactive partition is hidden.

    Nevertheless - tho you don't say what o/s you are using - it would appear it must be Vista/7.

    You have moved the start of the "music" patition.

    NT6 o/s use that information to boot up - now it is different

    All you need to do is correct the bcd entry.

    Paragon winpe boot disc has a boot corrector which should have that option.

    Vista and Windows 7 installation discs/repair discs have automateed startup repair.

    If you are using windows 7 on your "office" partition, you can do it easily from there.

    open an administrator command prompt and type:

    bcdboot musicdriveletter:\windows

    (use the drive letter of your music partition as seen when you are in your office partition, so if your music drive letter is D , you type:

    bcdboot D:\windows )

    then press enter.
     
  3. unifaun

    unifaun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Sorry not to mention:

    my OS is Windows XP SP 3, on the old (120 gb) HD the Paragon hd manager boot menu says:

    floppy disk
    OFFICE
    MUSIC

    Then I had to selct which partition I wanted to boot.

    When booting system partition OFFICE, system partition MUSIC (with its own XP installation) was inactive and hidden, you cannot access data on the MUSIC partition.

    When booting system partition MUSIC, it is vice versa: system partition OFFICE (with its own XP installation) was inactive and hidden, you cannot access data on the OFFICE partition.

    After copying the whole HD 1by1 to the new HD, I mounted the new 500 gb HD to the notebook and started. It was all the same as before.

    Then I wanted to change the sizes of the two independent partitions because there is plenty more disk space on the new HD.

    After operating size changes on the new HD, MUSIC partition does not boot any more!!

    I did the same opertaion some months ago. It was no problem then.

    Do you now know what I mean?

    The rescue discs (both WinddowsPE andDOS/Linux) start when I enter it to the disc drive but when I proceed the program crashes.
     
  4. SIW2

    SIW2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Oh, it's XP.

    Sounds like the Paragon bootmanager is hiding the partitions - there is an option to do that - or undo it if you wish.

    I don't know why you would to hide any of the partitions.

    As I understand, the problem is you cannot boot one of the xp installations after resizing it's partition?
     
  5. unifaun

    unifaun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Yes, you understand it right.

    The reason of the 2 systems is:

    partition MUSIC (has its own OS, XP is installed twice on my notebook) is not connected to the internet, no wi-fi, no needless drivers, no firewall, no permanent anti virus software.

    My digital audio workstation requires much of the system for recording purposes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.