BootIt UEFI

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Brian K, Jun 26, 2018.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You can install this to an empty, blank disk or to a GPT disk that already has an OS.

    Unlike BootIt Bare Metal, unallocated free space is not required for a BIU install. BIU installs into the EFI System Partition.

    Installing an OS sets up the Boot Item so you are ready to go. When you have multiple Windows OS you should confirm the booted OS will see itself as C: drive and all other Windows OS will be hidden so there can't be cross-talk. This information is in Boot Edit.

    To add an extra OS, create a partition in Partition Work (NTFS or Linux), boot the install media and install to the partition you just created.

    Disk Imaging: Image for UEFI (IFU) creates and restores the same images as IFW and IFL. You can run IFU manually or from scripts. It is currently CUI but should be GUI shortly.

    BootNow is supported so you can choose the next OS to boot from your current OS. It isn't necessary to choose the item from the BIU Boot Menu.

    Theoretically your mufti-boot could contain over a thousand OS. As a minimum I like a Windows OS, a Linux OS and a clone of one of these OS for "experiments". To clone an OS to somewhere else requires 5 mouse clicks. The OS partitions can be on any disk and you don't have to disconnect disks to install subsequent OS.
     
  2. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,254
    Location:
    Adelaide
    So if one already owns IFL and BootIt BM, BootIt UEFI is only worth purchasing if one wants to install it to their system.
     
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,914
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    OK, that's the first 3... what will you use the other 997 for? Just what I need... 1000+ OSes :eek:

    I really have been waiting a long time for THIS TOOL :D
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    The Seeker,

    With PartWork on IFL you can already do partitioning on GPT disks so if you don't plan to multi-boot on GPT disks then BIU isn't needed.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    TRF,

    I like my imaging "boot disks" on internal drives rather than UFD/CDs. They boot much faster from internal drives and restores can be automated. So I have these on internal drives: IFL, TBWinPE/RE, TBOSDT. Although I don't use the following, these boot from the BIU boot menu. Active Boot Disk, Macrium Reflect, AOMEI, EaseUS.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Upgrade info...

     
  7. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,254
    Location:
    Adelaide
    This is what I figured - thanks for the clarification.
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,142
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    Back in March you helped me to verify my setup of IFW on my new system that I had just purchased (Image For Windows - starting in post # 1069). You also helped with the initial setup of my new system including installing a SSD here: SSD and IDE/AHCI?. At the time, I was not planning on multi-booting but have now rethought that. I have decided that I want to start learning Linux and have chosen Linux Mint as what I will go with. Since Mint 19 was nearing release, I decided to wait until then. It has now been released and BootIt UEFI just happened to be released within the same week. I have an UEFI Secure Boot system running Windows 10 Pro (64-bit). I had been pondering how to do my multi-booting and now it seems BootIt UEFI may be the best answer. I assume it will work with what I want to do.

    If BootIt UEFI will work in my scenario, I may need some help setting everything up. I have BIBM (could not resist the price when I bought IFW) but have never really used it. I see that gets me a discount on BootIt UEFI so that is good. I just have to decide on what flavor of Mint 19 (Cinnamon, MATE, or Xfce). I want to stay close to a Windows desktop and from what I have read Cinnamon seems to be the most popular and is the default that ships with Mint so I will probably go with that.

    The main areas that I may need help with is the partition work needed and installing Mint (as I have read it wants to install its own boot loader and this has caused issues for some - I want to avoid that). I assume that installing BootIt UEFI is simple and straightforward so that should not be an issue.

    One quick question: If I use BootIt UEFI, does that mean I should switch from using IFW to Image for UEFI?
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Kent,

    I installed Mint Cinnamon 19 last night to my computer that has BIU installed. I have been testing Cinnamon 19 beta recently. I also have Kubuntu and numerous Windows OS. I'm sure I can make this easy for you.

    Can you post a screenshot of Disk Management? How much RAM is present?

    Regarding imaging, you can use IFW, IFL or IFU. They create and restore the same images. I'd keep using IFW as it's faster than IFU and you are familiar with IFW.
     
  10. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,142
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    Thanks for the reply :thumb: !
    I have a fairly busy weekend ahead of me so I probably will not get around to doing anything until Monday unless I get a decent chunk of free time.
    I have 40 GB of RAM.
    To start with of course I want the partition for Mint 19 but I think I would also want to do one for TBWinRE. I do not know if it can be done on the same drive or would have to be done on my second drive (second drive would probably be best).
    Here is my Disk Management:
    2018.06.30_16h49m25s_00002_0002.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2018
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Kent,

    You can have Win10, Mint Cinnamon, TBWinRE and IFL on HD0. Your fastest drive. I like IFL for restores as it is the fastest.

    Let me know when you are ready. The plan is to create a BIU UFD, install BIU, create the Linux partition and leave Free Space for a later install of TBWinRE and IFL. Install Cinnamon without a Swap partition as with 40 GB of RAM a Swap partition isn't necessary.
     
  12. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,142
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    I purchased BIU just a bit ago and I received an email stating that my order was under review and I would receive my license probably within 12 hours but no longer than 24 hours. I was not thinking when I placed the order and just happened to be using a VPN in a different state than where I actually am. I think this may be the reason for the delay in my license. I will just have to wait and see. So far no license. Also, I want to do an image since it has been two days since my last one just in case something goes wrong. I am going to try to do the image sometime tonight and hopefully should have my license by then.
     
  13. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK. Create a BIU UFD in the usual manner by double clicking makedisk.exe.

    To install BIU, boot the UFD and these should be the choices...

    OK, YES, YES, YES, OK, OK, Close, OK

    BIU installs into the EFI System partition. It doesn't install to a dedicated partition as we see with BIBM. In Partition Work you will see a fourth partition that isn't seen by Disk Management. The Microsoft Reserved partition.
     
  14. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,142
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    I will try to get my image done and what you posted above done tonight. Hopefully I will have my license by that time as I am a bit leery about installing a trial. I would much rather install the licensed version.
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  16. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'd email TeraByte Support if the license doesn't arrive.
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    After installing BIU click Boot Edit. Select Windows 10 (or whatever it's called) and click Edit. Make sure there is a tick in Rename Directory. There should be.

    On the BIU desktop click Settings. Confirm "Align on 1 MiB Boundaries" has a tick. Fill in your Time Zone. The sign will be + (reverse of what you expect)

    Out of interest, Run icon, tbexplo.tbs can edit/delete/rename any file in your computer.

    Click Text Editor, Open, select the .. line and press Enter. One of the folders seen should be Microsoft.001 (booting files for current Win10). After installing Linux Mint Cinnamon you will see ubuntu.001. Yes, it's called ubuntu. Subsequent Windows installs will create Micosoft.002, Microsoft.003, etc. Or ubuntu.002, etc.

    In Partition Work select the Win10 partition. Click Properties, Details. What are the Free/ Used MiB?
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Download Mint Cinnamon 64-bit ISO and use the latest Rufus to make a bootable USB flash drive.
     
  19. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,142
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    Well, when I went to bed last night it had been ten hours since I placed my order but still no license. I obviously was not able to proceed any further. Luckily, my license had arrived this morning when I woke up.
    Here is a summary of what I have done so far, along with any questions that were raised along the way:
    Done and install went without a hitch.
    There was.
    There was not, so I ticked it. Here is a summary of the "Settings" that are now ticked:
    "Settings"
    • Display DB Button
    "Settings" > "General"
    • Use Volume Label
    • BootNow Support
    • MBRs may be Encrypted
    • Keep HD Active
    • Use HDO in FAT BPB
    • Resize with Cacheing
    "Settings" > "Device"
    • None ticked
    "Settings" > "Global Geometry and Alignment"
    • Validate Geometry Before Use
    • Align MBR for BIOS Auto Mode
    • Use New Windows MBR
    • Align on 1 MiB Boundaries (manually ticked)
    I did not really understand what to do here so I left it blank. I am in the eastern time zone which is (UTC -05:00) so do I enter "+05:00"?
    I did this but really did not understand what was intended for me to do or if was just an observation for me to learn...
    I did this and assume that it was just a learning observation for me.
    Done.
    • Free 179992 MiB
    • Used 48328 MiB
    Done.

    Now for three questions that were raised during carrying out the above instructions:
    • Whenever I would select "Partition Work", I would always get the following warning: "Warning: System is in hibernated state. Making changes can cause corruption." This sounds like something to be concerned about?
    • When on the "Boot Screen", there are three options: "Boot" > "Maintenance" > "Direct Boot". "Maintenance" is obvious but what is the difference in the other two options - "Boot" and "Direct Boot"? I have been selecting "Boot" so far and it seems the correct choice.
    • I see under "Settings" > "Security" that I can set a "Maintenance Password". I would like to do that but have not so far as I am not sure what the options "Require Login" and "Users" are for. Could you clarify this before I make use of this feature?

    OK... I think that catches me up with your instructions so far as well the questions that I have had along the way.
     
  20. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,914
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Puff, it sounds like the last time that W10 System was taken down, the FastBOOT was set. If you can BOOT back into the W10 System, I would insure that wasn't set (it screws up some muli-BOOTing scenarios) and shut it back down.
     
  21. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,142
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @TheRollbackFrog,

    One of the first things that I do on a system is disable fast startup. Especially since I use TeraByte products and they strongly recommend to disable it. I let TBINotify run mainly to be sure that fast startup does not turn back on. I double checked Windows Control Panel under "System and Security" > "Power Options" > "Choose what the power buttons do" and it is definitely still disabled...
     
  22. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I checked my Settings and they agree with yours, except I also have...

    ISO8601 Date/Time

    For Time Zone I'd use USA+5

    (the first 3 characters can be anything)

    tbexplo.tbs was just information. We'll look at it in a few weeks.

    On the Boot Screen I always use "Boot". I have used Direct Boot to boot a UFD.

    On Settings, Security I don't use a password. I suggest you leave this blank until everything is set up.

    What do you plan to do with hibernation?
     
  24. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,142
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @Brian K,

    Yes i do use it but I could do away with it. That thread you posted the link to does not really make a lot of sense to me either. What I do not understand is that hibernation is a part of Windows. When you are in BIBM or BIU, you are not in Windows, so how can you be in hibernation? Windows 10 by default uses sleep, not hibernation, which is what I use (sleep), but I guess they are really both pretty much the same thing as they both use the hiberfil.sys file. I can do away with it as the only time that I really use it is overnight, only rebooting my system every three or four days. I have never not used it so I assume screensaver an all still works, just the system will not sleep/hibernate. It would free up about 16 GB on my SSD.
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,671
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.