Bootit NG and IFW very slow

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Banshee, Nov 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    I have downloaded both programs and tried imaging my 47 gigs partition.It took them both over one hour.

    I imaged the same partition with shadow protect and it took it just 16 mins?

    Am I missing something or they are just really really slow?
     
  2. TheKid7

    TheKid7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Posts:
    3,469
    I am a new user (~2 weeks) to both BootIt NG and IFW. I haven't worked with BootIt NG yet but I have used IFW.

    I tried "Maximum" Compression once and this resulted in a very long image time. I think that Maximum Compression took on the order of three times as long than with Standard Compression. Are you using Standard Compression or Maximum Compression? Maximum Compression only compressed a "little" more so I will not be using Maximum Compression any more.

    I do not remember the exact times it took me to image my two PC's but I remember about how long it took. ~7GB: ~4 or 5 minutes. ~11GB: ~7 minutes. These images were saved to files on internal hard drives and were done with the default Standard Compression.
     
  3. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543


    Looks like bootit ng doesn't like my computer..

    I used standard.I even went the "boot direct" way.It did speed up things a little but not by much.With "boot direct" it took bootit ng around 140 mins to image 47 gigs.(validation not included in the 140 mins) .When it started validating I hit cancel.

    I didn't try restoring as I needed the computer and didn't want to wait all day.:argh:
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Banshee,

    BING is a slow backup app. It's still using ver 1 software and the backup includes the pagefile and hibernation file. If you have IDE HDs you can often more than halve your backup time by using UDMA drivers in BING. These drivers make no difference with SATA HDs.

    IFW is ver 2 and although I doubt it would match your SP backup time, it shouldn't have taken a hour. You mentioned a 47 GB partition. How much data is in that partition? Where was the backup being written? A second HD or a partition on the same HD? Did Phylock take long to achieve a lock?

    I've tried Maximum compression too. It hasn't yet been fully optimized and is slow.
     
  5. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    I am sorry I don't know if I have ide hds. Ok I didn't explain myself properly. My partition is actually 250 gigs but only 47 are taken up by data.Backup was being written to the other internal drive I have.

    It took phylock about 5+ mins to achieve a lock.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2008
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,638
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    It's usually 5 to 10 seconds. That means something was writing to the disk preventing a lock. Try it a few more times and see how long Phylock takes. Abort the backup as soon as Phylock achieves a lock. Finding which prog is writing to the disk can be difficult. Some folks use Process Explorer but I've been fortunate and haven't had to use it.
     
  7. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543

    I uninstalled IFW and downloaded a new setup file and installed it again.. I really don't know what happened but Phylock achieved a lock in 8 secs and it took IFW 25 mins to do the imaging.Only 9 mins more than SP.This is more like it :)
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I have problems with psylock taking ages to lock the disc as well. sometimes up to 10mins. no idea which application is causing the issue.
    think i will do some tests when i got some time.
     
  9. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543
    Did you check terabyte's site ? They have some help files there.If ifw doesn't work right go sp! :argh:
     
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    seems by putting imagew.exe in to kaspersky trusted zone with option do not scan open files sorted out the problem.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.