Booting from a image - help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by guest, Mar 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. guest

    guest Guest

    I have Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation.

    How does one go about booting from an exisiting backup image which resides
    on/in a drive or SecureZone ?

    I do not see any options for it in the application.

    I notice there are multiple applications which can be installed upon the initial running of the setup file aside from the Acronis True Image Workstation setup.

    Must I install one of these other applications to have the ability to boot from an image?

    Thanks
     
  2. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Unless I'm misunderstanding something, you must Restore an Image before you can get a bootable system.
     
  3. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Maybe we're getting our terminology mixed up, but you can't boot from an image; it's just a file.
    If you cloned your drive, you should be able to boot from the new clone (assuming the source drive was bootable).
     
  4. biiikman

    biiikman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I do see on the main acronis page one of the new features of ATI 9.1 is "boot from a image backup"..which does sound like you can boot from the image file. once you've saved an image in the secure zone, then select recovery..then select secure zone as the source. it wil lthen ask which of 3 restore types you want to do:
    1. snap restore
    2. restor edisk or partition
    3. restore files or folders.
    at least thats what happened when I did it, which should be the same for you?
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2006
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  6. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    “When backing up to removable media, you can make this media bootable by writing to it additional components. Thus, you will not need a separate rescue disk.“

    OK – While this will make the removable media bootable, the image itself is not. Big difference if somebody thinks they can just copy the image file onto another CD/DVD and have it bootable.
    This also does not address the OPs question concerning the Secure Zone.
    I still say an “image” is not bootable.
     
  7. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    On second thought, Alexey does answer the Ops question about booting from a SZ image in a round about way – you can’t.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.