Bootable version rejects valid image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Frank Henien, Dec 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Frank Henien

    Frank Henien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Using TI 11, I made 2 images. One is a 4 GB image of a full partition C, the other is a 500 MB image of some files in a data partition.

    When I boot with the full bootable TI 11, the system hangs while attemting to read the 4 GB image. It hangs before posting the name of the image. It works well with the 500 MB image.

    When I boot with the bootable TI 10, the system says that the 4 GB image is invalid.

    When I boot into Windows, the regular TI 11 recognises the 4 GB image and makes the recovery without any problems.

    The problem with the bootable TI occurs whether the image is on a DVD or on a hard disk.

    It is very time consuming to move disks around to use the Windows TI. I would appreciate if the bootable TI worked as well as the Windows TI.

    Thanks.
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    This is not an uncommon problem with ATI. The hardware drivers in Windows work with your hardware so ATI has no problems in windows but the drdivers in the linus OS used on the Boot CD do not work well with your hardware so ATI, on the BootCD can't deal with file AATI in widnows told you was just fine -- this problem is too often blamed on supposed bad memory or bad disks.

    Here's an alternative if you're willing to put in about an hour's time and mot much effort -- Try searching for Mustang's VistaPE guide on this forum and use it to build a VistaPE (i.e., Vista Boot disk) with ATI on it -- you'll find your memory and disks are fine, you tib is fine and ATI will run on your hardware and much faster than the ATI boot disk (if it worked on your hardware).

    If you follow the steps; it's very easy to make the Vista PE disk. I resisted relying on BartPE and reatogo disks for a long time and didn't recommend them to others because of the difficulties building them and getting them to work. But the VistaPE disk is simple if you follow the guide. And Mustang's scripts are worth the couple or so bucks he asks for.
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Frank,
    To save you trying again. TI11 images cannot be read or used in any way by TI10. However TI10 images can be seen and used by TI11.
    One way compatibility.

    Xpilot
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Frank Henien,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build (8053) of Acronis True Image 11 Home. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If updating doesn't solve the problem, please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also clarify, where the problem image is stored, and what filesystem is on that drive.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    As Xpilot pointed, Acronis True Image 10.0 Home cannot read images created by Acronis True Image 11 Home due to improvement of archive format.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. Frank Henien

    Frank Henien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks to all for your advices. I will implement them and let you know the results.
     
  6. Frank Henien

    Frank Henien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I have updated to the build 8053 and the problem disapeared. I am able to restore the image from the bootable ATI.

    Thanks again.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Frank Henien,

    We are glad to hear that your issue has been solved and you can use Acronis True Image successfully.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.