Bootable rescue media question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Fatboy71, Jan 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fatboy71

    Fatboy71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    A while back I purchased Acronis TI 10. One of the first things I done once I had installed it was to create a Bootable Recue Media CD, so that in the event of an operating system failure and the PC not booting, I would therefore be able to boot/start Acronis TI 10 from this CD.

    My question is this:

    I am going to be shortly getting a new PC, I was wondering if I will be able to use the Bootable Rescue Media disc (that I created on my present PC) on my new PC, or would I have to create another Bootable Rescue Media CD from on my new PC?

    Does anyone know if Acronis TI 10 works with Vista Ultimate?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Fatboy71,
    The Rescue CD is not machine specific. No need for another CD.

    Vers 10 (Windows) is not Vista compatible. but the Rescue CD will enable backups and restores for Vista.

    The copy you bought is good for only one machine. You will need another license for your new machine.

    For disaster planning, be sure you have a full disk image backup which includes all partitions on your system disk.
     
  3. Fatboy71

    Fatboy71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Posts:
    32

    Thanks very much for the help GroverH.

    So to confirm. I would need to purchase Acronis True Image 11 and I presume this is Windows Vista Ultimate compatible?

    Also, the Bootable Recue Media CD that I created with Acronis True Image 10, this would work ok with Acronis TI 11 and Vista of course?


    Have you had any experience with using Acronis TI 11? is it similar to use, layout etc and ease of use has Acronis TI 10 is?
     
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Hmmm. Why say 10 isn't Vista comaptible? Version 10 was sold as "Vista Compatible". I wasn't aware that it had more problems when Vista was involved than version 11. In fact, I would suspect fewer probems than the version 11 builds that have been released to-date. Probably the worst prob was the mbr fix needed after a restore of a Vista system disk.
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I could be wrong about the v10 Vista compatibility. I am basing my comments on the fact that the user manual pdf file does not list Vista as a supported OS. But then again, maybe my pdf file is not the most recent for V10.

    Always create a new Rescue CD whenever you upgrade to a new build or a new version. Don't forget to write the serial number and the build number on the CD.
     
  6. Fatboy71

    Fatboy71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I think my cousin may have TI 10 on his Vista machine (can't be certain though) I'll ask if it works ok the next time I see him, if it doesn't I'll give TI 11 trial a go and if it does has good a job has TI 10 does, then I'll purchase. If I do go to TI 11 I'll take your advice and create a new rescue disc. Thanks very much everybody for the help, its much appreciated. :thumb:
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    TI 10 (build 4,942) has worked well with Vista Ultimate 32bit for me. About the only thing is you may need to do is a boot repair from the Vista DVD the first time you restore (or fix it before you restore, depending on your system). TI 11 takes care of this for you, but it also introduces some new bugs that have yet to be fixed.
     
  8. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Ditto. I've been using TI 10 build 4942 on Vista for a year now. I've restored the Vista partition several times so far without incident. I'm avoiding version 11 until the bugs are worked out.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.