bootable image recovery @ dynamic drives (LDM)

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by zer0zer0, Jul 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zer0zer0

    zer0zer0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    hi,

    i tryed to recover my c-partition (IDE) to my new raid-5 drive. the raid-drive under windows runs under LBM and i partitionized it well.

    during the imaging-process (backup c, recover c to raid) there are no problems, all files are restored.

    but it is not possible to boot from this drive, i get only following message if i try to boot:

    Reboot and Select proper Boot device
    or Insert Bott Media in selected Boot device and press and key..

    i have a test-version of true-image 9.1 server.

    can anybody help me?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    You should probably post this in the True Image Forum (maybe a moderator could move it?)

    The error sounds like the BIOS not finding a bootable device. If the RAID is setup in BIOS, have set the RAID to be the first bootable device in the BIOS? (Or at least directly after the CD/DVD drive.) Check the BIOS boot list (you may have a separate list for hard drives, so check that list if you have one and make sure the RAID is listed first).

    Otherwise, if the BIOS settings are correct:

    What OS are you running?

    Can you do a "Boot Repair" of the OS by booting from the OS cd/dvd?

    I'm not exactly sure how Windows boots from dynamic drives. If the BIOS sees the drives as regular drives and the RAID is all done in Windows then the BIOS settings won't show a RAID array.
     
  3. zer0zer0

    zer0zer0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    ups, thats right, sorry

    in my bios, i changed the boot priority to the raid-array. in addition to this i removed all other drives with the same result.

    WinXP

    under windows.. i suppose that isn't possible, or?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    You can run the XP Recovery Console from the XP cd. Take a look at this from Microsoft's site: How to install and use the Recovery Console in Windows XP

    You probably need to run the fixmbr, fixboot commands and maybe the bootcfg command.

    Otherwise, you could try doing a "Repair" install of XP. After which you'd need to reapply any Windows Updates.
     
  5. zer0zer0

    zer0zer0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    that was not possible. there was no access to the raid-drive @ the recovery console (some access error).

    by random i found a solution. i installed winxp on the raid-array (only until the input of the product-key). after that i boot from the old ide-drive and now i was wondering: the raid-drive wasn't detected as a dynamic drive, it was detected like a ide-drive. then i installed the image to this drive and the image was now bootable @ raid.

    i dont understand why but it works now :doubt:

    intressting link, i never used the recovery console well before. thats a good introduction. very thanks 4 help MudCrab.

    maybe this threat could be moved to the right channel?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.