Boot Problem Startup Recovery Manager

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by WaDa, Jan 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WaDa

    WaDa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I am using the German Version of True Image 2009 Build 9.646 with Windows XP.
    Drive 1: Boot Partition C, OS Partition G, Drive 2: Security Zone
    I also have the newest BIOS version.

    After activating the Startup Recovery Manager I get the following error message (translated from German):
    „Acronis Loader: fatal error: Boot drive (Partition) not found. Push Enter to try to start your OS“

    With the same configuration TI 11 worked fine without any problem. Also the recovery disk of TI 2009 works fine.

    Has anybody a solution for this? I am in contact with the German Acronis Support since nearly 2 month but up to now they could not help me. Thank you for your assistance.

    Regards
    Walter
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello WaDa,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    In order to solve the issue you should repair MBR:

    Download special Acronis utility from this link . Use it to create a floppy and boot the machine from the floppy.

    If you prefer to a fix MBR using a CD, then please download special Acronis utility from here. Use it to create a CD and boot the machine from the CD.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  3. WaDa

    WaDa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    What I did already (suggestions from your live chat):
    de-installed all Acronis products, cleaned remaining folders and entries in the registry manually
    Write the MBR new: fixmbr, fixboot and bootcfg /rebuild (form Windows CD)
    activated the services Com + event system, COM + System Application, Distributed transaction..., Volume shadow copy
    installed TI 2009 again

    without success:
    I still get the message: fatal error: Boot drive (Partition) not found. Push Enter to try to start your OS.

    Ragards
    WaDa
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello WaDa,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Try to add acpi=off noapic parameters. To add necessary parameters to Acronis Startup Recovery Manager please do the following:

    Deactivate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager first.

    1. Open f11.cfg file in the Notepad:
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\TrueImageHome\f11.cfg

    2. Find a line in this file: kernel kernel.dat quiet

    3. Change it to: kernel kernel.dat acpi=off noapic

    4. Save the changes and activate Acronis Startup Recovery Manager again.

    If the issue remains, you should wait the next build of the program.

    Thank you.

    --

    Oleg Lee
     
  5. Johnny56

    Johnny56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Oleg,
    I've the same problem like Walter.
    I didn't those things like Walter:
    -----------------------------------------------
    de-installed all Acronis products, cleaned remaining folders and entries in the registry manually
    Write the MBR new: fixmbr, fixboot and bootcfg /rebuild (form Windows CD)
    activated the services Com + event system, COM + System Application, Distributed transaction..., Volume shadow copy
    installed TI 2009 again
    ------------------------------------------------
    I only changed the parameters in the f11.cfg-file as you described above.

    The result is:
    The problem remains the same.

    I just bought TI Home 2009 just two days ago, and realy don't want to wait very long for the next build.

    Questions:

    Can I use TIH2009 without activating the Startup Recovery Manager just using the a bootable TI disk?

    I want to make an basic backup of the whole harddrive. Does it make sense to do this before the mentioned f11 -problem is solved ?

    @Walter: did you soved the problem ?

    Thank You
     
  6. WaDa

    WaDa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Nothing changed after I modified the f11.cfg.
    The problem is still the same.

    Walter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.