Boot Problem since installing EAV v3

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by OzBoz, Feb 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Since installing NOD32 v3 I am experiencing a problem at boot up. My ASDL will not connect unless I boot for a second time. Annoying but not catastrophic.

    If I go into network connections, there is only one networdk listed (ASDL router) where there used to be two listed (ASDL plus LAN) If I accept an offer "to repair" I am asked things like IP address and DNS which I have no idea what they are, or how to get them. I have tried the network wizard, but again I don't know what I'm doing, and the questions are not clear.

    I am using NOD32 v3, recently upgraded from v2.7, and ZAP v7
    Any help would be appreciated.

    Brian
     
  2. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    Brian, if you have Windows Firewall running you might need to manually check a box to let NOD32 out to the internet. Also in the configurations it might be set to scan upon booting up.

    I don't know what operating system you have.
    Also there is a nifty program called Win Patrol www.winpatrol.com that has a free version that you can use. It is a nice addition to AV programs and actively watches for rootkits. ONE nice feature is that you can set up delayed start up items. SO, if you want certain programs to not start immediately on boot up (makes it a bit faster) it is easy to set up. You can vary the amount of time for different start up programs too, by the way.
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just for testing purposes, could you try uninstalling ESET NOD32 Antivirus to see if it starts working again then?
     
  4. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Thanks for the interest and responses.

    @Marcos. I tried reinstalling but it made no difference. I also tried reinstalling ESS to see if that might fix it, but no. ESS is now installed instead of EAV

    @Vern. I am using XP SP2 but not Windows Firewall. I will continue to experiment with the swithces to see if I can resove this problem. I think a significant clue, is the fact that on bootup, an intenet connection is not made, but on a re boot (restart) a connection is made straight away. I'm pretty sure I've read something about that on one of the setup screens.

    Thanks again.

    Brian
     
  5. Dieselman

    Dieselman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Posts:
    795
    Macros said uninstall not reinstall. Uninstall NOD32 and see if your connection works better.
     
  6. Philippe_FR22

    Philippe_FR22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    249

    Maybe that could be a FW problem... Maybe, in case of update, FW doesn't detect properly the program change for NOD32...

    But, I'm exactly in the same configuration with you :
    1) Initial Config : NOD32 v2.7 / ZAP 7.0.462 /Windows XP Pro SP2
    2) Upgrading from NOD32 v2.7 to 3.0 (I decided to uninstall first, because of important changes on the new release)
    -> I uninstalled completely NOD32 v2.7 (very good uninstall process, no remaining files ans folders)
    -> I cleaned up registry using jv16powertool registry cleaner (but you can use regcleaner, which is quite the same and free), not many keys were found...
    -> Cleanup the PC, using CCleaner and other registry cleanup using Ccleaner (minor changes)
    -> Cleanup ZA rules : delete all entries related to NOD32 kernel / update
    -> Reboot
    -> Installation of EAV 3.0
    -> Answer ZAP Asking EAV is needed access (don't forgot to test with eicar, if you selected mail notification, to authorize outgoing SMTP)


    Then, every thing is good !!!

    So my advice is :
    -> Download CCleaner and regcleaner and install them
    -> Uninstall EAV and clean your PC (CCleaner + Regcleaner)
    -> Cleanup ZAP rules (related to NOD32)
    -> Reboot and re-install and that should be OK
     
  7. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    Hi Again,,

    After nearly 2 weeks of searching, checking, and fiddling, I am no nearer to solving this problem.

    If I uninstall EAV, then an ADSL is made immediately on bootup. I'm not sure what that tells me though. I'm using the same firewall (ZA) with the same settings I used with NOD v 2.7 but I originally uninstalled ZA and tried ESS which is when all my problems started. Those problems have now been inherited by ZA.

    I have tired a System Restore, but that does not work, as it tells me it can't be done. If, when the modem is hunting for a connection, I right click and Repair, a dialogue tells me it is searching for an IP address, and then freezes the whole system, requiring a power off shut down.

    Most frustrating.

    Brian
     
  8. curiousmicrobe

    curiousmicrobe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Posts:
    32
    I guess it sounds like ZA causing the problem. Have you tried uninstalling it and then installing ESS - which has a firewall built in? Also try this:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357

    Hope it helps.
     
  9. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    If I uninstall ZA and leave EAV, I do not need to reboot, but the startup position is always offline. If I click on Go Online all is ok.

    If I uninstall EAV and leave ZA, everything works perfectly, with a connection first time, everytime.

    If I uninstall EAV and ZA and install ESS, I'm back to the original problem. 2 or 3 reboots to get an ADSL connection.

    Seeing that this problem only started when I installed ESS/EAV, and uninstalling it fixes the problem, I must assume that there is some kind of issue with v3.0. Up until recently, I had been using ZA Pro with NOD32 v2.7 with no problems at all.

    I also notice that there are quite a few threads/posts on internet issues with v3.0

    Cheers

    Brian
     
  10. tanstaafl

    tanstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    One thing that jumps out at me...

    You have apparently installed some kind of ADSL s/w on your computer? I highly susoect that THAT is your problem - it for some reason doesn't like ESET.

    It is HIGHLY preferred to not install any ISP crapware, and let your ROUTER hande keeping the DSL connection alive...

    I *NEVER* install crapware from ISPs to control internet connections.
     
  11. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    The only software installed for the modem, is from the original installation disc.
    This is exactly my point. For about 2 years I have been using NOD32 v2 with no problems. Along comes v3 and things are broken. My firewall and router had no problems with v2, and the settings remain unchanged, therefore v3 is the problem somehow.
     
  12. OzBoz

    OzBoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    I have established, by swapping in a different computer (nothing else) with no Eset application installed, that my system works perfectly. No problems with the router/modem, cables or any other hardware.

    The other computer is fairly old and I can't install Eset on it, to test whether that one breaks down after installing Eset.

    The obvious solution would be to trash Eset and find something else, except for the fact that some sort of damage has been done to my system, and uninstalling Eset now makes no difference to my problem. That's apart from the fact I've just renewed a 2 year subsciption.

    I have installed and uninstalled Eset AV/SS so many times in the last two weeks, and I have noticed this program does not always uninstall cleanly, and at times, installations end up corrupt. It's a big comedown from v2, which I always considered the best AV program on the market.

    Well, I guess that leaves me with a Windows Repair or reinstall, and maybe AVG. Shudder....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.