Boot Options-no F11

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by coyote400, Jul 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. coyote400

    coyote400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Am just getting started with ATI v11. Have installed it, partitioned a (new) backup disk and successfully created one .tib file as full image backup of my primary disk.

    When I try to boot from the Rescue CD, I don't see an option F11 to boot Acronis, just F2 and F12. When I select F12, I can then select boot from CD and Acronis comes up, but I would like to know why boot behavior is not as per Acronis documentation. Is it because my boot sequence is SATA HD, then CD-ROM? Would I see F11 if I changed to boot first from CD-ROM?

    FYI, PC is a Dell Dimension 8400 running version A09 of the BIOS and Windows XP Pro SP3.

    Sorry to start a new thread for such a simple question, but the forum search refused to search on F11 and search of Boot Options gave a gazillion results.

    Thanks.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    You will only get the F11 boot option if you create a Secure Zone (SZ) and then activate the Acronis Startup Recovery Manager (ASRM). Doing this will change the MBR on the drive so make sure you really want it before to try it. Note that if you only want to use the F11 feature and don't plan on saving any backup images to the SZ, you can make a small SZ.
     
  3. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    MudCrab, now I am confused...

    When I start with the rescue-cd I can press F11 when the menu appears where you can choose "TrueImage, Try&Decide, etc).
    The a commandline window appears where I can write the options.
    I have no SZ or anything else.

    Or do I misunderstood the issue...


    @coyote400:
    The F11-option will not be offer. Simply press F11 when the menu appears.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Pressing F11 at the Acronis menu is where you enter any Linux kernel parameters.

    The other F11 is to boot to the ASRM from the SZ and it's displayed on the screen before Windows boots. No TI CD is required.
     
  5. coyote400

    coyote400 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, MudCrab. Upon re-reading the documentation, I see that they did specify that F11 was for Startup Recovery Manager, which needs the Secure Zone. Somehow I lost that detail by the time I got to the end of the book.

    Sorry to waste people's time.
     
  6. MrMorse

    MrMorse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Germany
    Oh, important and good to know...
    Thank you :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.