Boot Error FLC-02 ???

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by eniqmah, Dec 9, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Hello,
    I've been having problems booting to any other snapshot.

    When I select any snapshot and try to boot to it, I get the error "FLC-02 - FDISR Error: press any key to continue to windows". So I am stuck at the same snapshot.

    I've tried reformating, reinstalling, restoring archive, etcs...

    IS this a known error? If so, what's the fix?

    Thanks for responses, this problem has been pretty tough on my work lately.
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,304
    Location:
    England
    eniqmah, I guess we will have to wait and see if Peter has any idea's.

    Have you done anything at all which could have had an impact on the use of hotkeys? (just guessing:) )
     
  3. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,054
    Hi enigmah

    I assume when you say reformat you mean just that and doing a clean windows install. That and a reinstall of FDISR should fix it.

    What OS, which FDISR version etc. I'd give as much info as possible as it make take Todd on this one.

    Pete
     
  4. Leapfrog Software

    Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    251
    Location:
    Northern Nevada, USA
    Greetings Enigmah,

    This appears to be a write error to your disk. I need to get logs from your system (please PM me on this). Also, please perform a CHKDSK on your system drive.
     
  5. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Hello,
    I reformatted the entire C drive, installed XP+FDISR, restored an archived snapshot and tried to boot to that snapshot, or any other snapshot. That's where I get the error. I think that may signal a problem with the disk or MBR.

    This is the version 3.x.205, I also tried using the earlier version 1.17 or some thing similar, same problem.
    Edit: in regards to versions, I thought may be the latest updated version could possibly help, but I don't think any thing is wrong with .205, besides, I bought this thing so long ago from Raxco, my purchasing information is lost to me lol.

    I'll send the log to Todd when I get home today. This is the first time this program has had a problem for me, crossing my fingers.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  6. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    None of this. Just normal operation.
     
  7. eniqmah

    eniqmah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Posts:
    391
    Hello,
    An update on the problem:
    I was quite suspicious that my HDD might have gone bad after the CHKDSK/F failed to fix the problem. Got off work a little early today and decided to swing by Fry’s to grab a new HDD. After installing the new drive>install XP+FDISR>tried to boot to 2nd snapshot, I received the same error. Could it be my Overclocking gone awry? I lowered clocks to default speeds, no help. So, I updated BIOS to the newest version, WaLa, it booted fine to any snapshot or archives.
    Still puzzled, I decided to compare the bios options and noticed one difference in the hard drive setups: Hard drive write protection was enabled when the problem occurred.
    Also, now, one of my connected drives don’t show up in explorer, but if I go into the device manager and rescan for hardware changes, the drive will show up, only to go hidden again after reboot. So … that somehow fixed it. I’m gonna do some research into what this disappearing hard drive is trying to do to me, but the problem with FDISR is resolved, though I think it was never a problem with FDISR in the first place.

    One more note,
    My old C drive was a Raptor X, the new drive is Velociraptor, and just thought I let you know, copying entire archives or duplicating snapshots 70GB in size took about 30 minutes. Amazing. If you ever thought snapshot maintenance was too slow, get this puppy.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.